We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy small plates for foodies.”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Reviewed December 13, 2013

While visiting Fernandina Beach this Nov. we ate at Espana at the recommendation of a downtown hotel staffer. We were five ladies gathered for a reunion and everyone of us loved the selections we made. How often can you get this many woman to agree and, one of our group is a chef from NYC! We mostly ate from the tapas menu but the entrees we saw looked heavenly too. Service was outstanding and the atmosphere nice-small, chic, and unpretentous. Highly recommeded.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gingerly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

First of all thank you so very much for taking the time to express your thoughts to us! Second, wow, we really appreciate your candor and honest review of our small, family business.

We really try everyday to make the evening memorable and the dinner noteworthy. We are just entering our tenth year here in Amelia and looking forward to many more! We sincerely appreciate your patronage, especially since there are so many excellent restaurant here on the Island.

Gracias & Feliz Navidad :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,173 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely LOVE everything about this restaurant! Had the steak with blue cheese on top... I though I had died and gone to heaven!

Thank Alaina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Front Office Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

I must agree, the Solomillo com Cabrales is just delicious. I have had it recently when I was there with my family celebrating an anniversary. What struck me was the perfect temperature (cooked exactly medium-rare) and preparation (no runny meat juices, the tenderloin had time to rest before serving!) and what I call the "Goldilocks" sauce. Not too much, not too little, but just right!!

We truly appreciate your comments! It is a useful tool for us to evaluate our kitchen, our wait staff and quite honestly, us.

*** Gracias **** and Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

When I want good food, I always go to Espana. Roberto is a great host and chef makes the food taste wonderful. Really enjoy the spicy grouper and the paella is superb!!! The atmosphere is quiet and allows you to talk to others without having to yell. There are two dining areas, one at the front and the other is a more casual sun room in back. Outdoor seating is also available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, General Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and look forward to making your next meal just as memorable. Roberto has been a restaurateur since 1988 and he takes great pride in making every guest's experience special in any way he can. We have a top-notch team that truly inspire us every day.

Merry Christmas & Thanx!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Group of business travelers found this place here on tripadvisor. So glad we did and took the time to get away from the ever-so-nice but predictable resort restaurants. We had a reservation which was a good thing. Staff was friendly and knowledgable. And food was yummy! The Portuguese Fisherman Stew was just great. Definitely worth a visit if you are at all nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, General Manager at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Why thank you so much! We are very fortunate to have separate dining rooms, where we very often cater to business groups or family special occasions! We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening at España, and that our staff was able to make your dinner a memorable one.

Feliz Navidad and Gracias !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Every time I return home to Fernandina my friends and I gather at Espana for the escargot, gambas mozambique and fresh fish! And the Sangria is not to be missed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IamMarissa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espana F, Owner at Espana Restaurant & Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Yes, we have seen countless customers over our ten-year period return and savor Chef Roberto's dishes, and enjoy the warm ambience. We strive to make every experience a special night out for our guests. Hope to see you next time you are in town.

** Gracias! **

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing