We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAPAS to die for”

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
“TAPAS to die for”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

WHAT A MENU! great choices, great staff, owners very involved in customers, Main menu and specials shouldn't be missed--go go you will love t

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueofChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,156
    304
    88
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our tapa's and Grouper were fantastic. The chef even sent out tuna ceviche on the house that was quite delicious. Service was also great. Will go back next time at Ameilia

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Noisy, but wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The owner/chef was constantly checking on the guests to see if they enjoyed his food, and we are now fans of his personality, food and attentiveness. He prepared for us escargots in a tomato/onion/cream sauce so tasty I had to ration myself on the fresh bread and resist the temptation to lick the bowl (some of the best I ever ate); fresh mussels in a tomato broth with onion and spices (large enough to be shared or eaten as an entree), and for our main courses, enjoyed the huge scallops prepared in a green sauce (cilantro and spices), a hearty beef tenderloin cooked perfectly with a madeira sauce, both accompanied by really good sauteed, mixed veggies, and we shared the tres leches cake (also wonderful) for dessert and a pitcher of sangria. A 5-star meal for sure!

We sat in the rear dining room with a view of the pretty garden (where you can also eat) and it was really noisy, mostly due to a 4-top of guests who obviously didn't understand personal space. But, it was very memorable and we will return to Espana on our next trip; perhaps we'll try the front dining room, which was very quiet compared to our side!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS....!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great food...Great ambiance...Great service. It was nice to see the owners interacting with the patrons. The wait staff, extremely knowledgeable.
We were very happy with every choice on the menu.
For sure Espana is a great reason to go back to Fernandina Beach.
Already planning our next visit.
Gracias!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Portugese food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food is always excellent. Fresh & delicious, the service always perfect. You can't visit Fernandina without eating at Espana! The steak & seafood is to die for:)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing