We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS....!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espana Restaurant & Tapas

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS....!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great food...Great ambiance...Great service. It was nice to see the owners interacting with the patrons. The wait staff, extremely knowledgeable.
We were very happy with every choice on the menu.
For sure Espana is a great reason to go back to Fernandina Beach.
Already planning our next visit.
Gracias!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    281
    85
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Portugese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food is always excellent. Fresh & delicious, the service always perfect. You can't visit Fernandina without eating at Espana! The steak & seafood is to die for:)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant - delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very pleasant surroudings - cloth tablecloths, good service, excellent food - wonderful, fresh seafood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A True Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Oh my where to begin...well for starters, Roberto and Marina have really outdone themselves with this year's facelift. While I have always loved the quiet ambiance of Espana, I felt even more welcomed when entering the front dining room, which was still flooded with the light from the setting sun. Everything looks bright, and clean and fresh - from the fresh coat of paint, to the new napkins and banquettes, to the new wall decorations and paintings. And then the wine...the house rioja, El Coto, is crisp and full flavored, and as it had time to open up, gained a more velvety palate; it complemented our meal well. Our server was Joel, who was gracious and very knowledgeable. Just what special to order? We went for the mussels, which were scrumptious and a bit spicy...but first we started out with the classic mozzarella, basil and tomatoes which were fresh and juicy, and the seared calamari, which is one of our personal favorites. Added the Shrimp Mozambique at the last minute and it was well worth it as well- with a spicy coconut milk sauce! Wrap up the meal with a flourless chocolate cake and a round of espresso...and end by saying this may be the best meal and experience I've had yet at Espana. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzieBAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Va
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Small, intimate restaurant with wonderful staff, food and wine. Reservations a must. My husband and I decided to share a few tapas plates and then share an entree. The only reason for doing this was to savor as many different dishes and flavors as possible and though we felt slightly embarrassed for ordering this way, our server put us at ease. The food here is truly Spanish and that is to say very flavorful and the portions were ample, so much so that we were unable to finish the huge double pork chop which was our entree. The wine selection made us think we were back in Barcelona and we left sated and happy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing