We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, great atmosphere”
Review of Happy Tomato Cafe

Happy Tomato Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First, let me begin by saying that I do not eat meat. So why would I choose a place that specializes in BBQ? My family are big fans of BBQ and I was happy to see vegetarian/vegan options on their menu. I ordered the tofu wrap which was good. It was a cold wrap, which I think I would do differently in my own home, but it was okay and hit the spot. My mom and aunt ordered a chicken salad sandwich along with potato salad. They were very happy with their selections. I found the coleslaw to be too sweet and passed it over to the others to share. All in all, it was a good experience. They have a wonderful little courtyard out back where you can sit in the shade and enjoy your food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    124
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“happy happy happy”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I live on the island so I eat here a lot. Richard & Billy put out some great food.the service is outstanding! try there chickin salad its the best. the muster bbq sauce is great. I would rate it a 10 fir the food& service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickywindleportier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
“Simple and Delicious BBQ!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've had lunch at the Happy Tomato many times and it never disappoints me! The staff is always very friendly and will happily answer any questions you have about the menu. The pulled pork is my favorite! They have a few different sauces to choose from (they're all good!) and the food comes out fast and hot! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a casual, well-priced and tasty BBQ experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too Hot to Handle”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had lunch the Tuesday after Memorial Day. They were closed for the holiday. I ordered the chicken and ribs combo. The food came out with two slices of plain white bread on top. Upon trying to pick up my ribs, I scorched my fingers. I tried using the plastic knife and fork but gave up. Ok I'll try the chicken. Pretty hot too. There was a pile of dill pickle chips and the juice didn't cool the food off. Ok so I'll eat the sides, now they were very good. I had read this was a great BBQ spot so here we are. I must say I was very disappointed and when I return to Amelia Island I will not be coming back for seconds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good...”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I'm being kind giving this BBQ place an average rating. When the sides are better than the actual BBQ you know you're in trouble. The beef ribs were tough and the pulled pork dry. My suspicion was the ribs and pork probably were made, refrigerated and reheated in a microwave before being served. I did not ask so this is just my opinion. The bright spot was the baked beans and potato salad were very good. The service was good also. I cannot recommend this BBQ restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Tomato Cafe also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Happy Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing