We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home of the huge sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Tomato Cafe

Happy Tomato Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“home of the huge sandwich”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

sandwiches are huge and real good. wish they had some kind of inside dining but i guess thats why the sandwiches are so good. They do have a shady area with plenty of fans a blowing.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sofaman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    122
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummo”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were on the fence about eating here because it is courtyard seating and quite hot. Glad that we did, excellent shrimp salad, unusual yet delish chicken salad. Our son enjoyed his monster club sandwich. Skip the pulled smoked turkey sandwich unless you get fork and knife as the pieces are not chopped at all.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClutterCoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
“Should you order Chicken Salad at a BBQ place? YES!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I live in town and when family visits we always take them to Happy Tomato. This past week, my sisters and I all ordered the chicken salad. It is the best! My sister was pleasantly surprised by the fruit in the salad. We had a huge helping served on the best 12 grain bread and croissant. Thoroughly enjoyed the cole slaw and potato salad we ordered as our sides. I also MUST mention that the guys working there are just awesome! To me, the people working at a restaurant are as important as the food served. We always have fast and very friendly service. They always make us feel special, which is a fun part of dining out. Thanks for another great visit!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okeedokee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply said.... The perfect spot for lunch!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We popped into Fernandina Beach for a quick look around before continuing on to Savannah. While enjoying the quaint town, we ran across this hidden jewel, and what a find it was! The perfect spot for a casual, delicious and simple lunch. My sandwich "The Monster" was terrific and truly lived up to it's name. It was not just a monster sized sandwich, but a monster value. Service was friendly and quick, the courtyard and deck areas quiet and charming. Truly the quintessential courtyard cafe experience. My only contstructive suggestion to the ownership would be to fill that courtyard with potted vegitation and flowers (maybe some on the tables too). It would be an eyepopper!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy Tomato Cafe; a hidden jewel”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Casual, comfortable, affordable and best of all great b-b-q which is smoked right here. The sandwiches were huge. A casual fun place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Tomato Cafe also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Happy Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing