We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Seafood Restaurant

Marina Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sugar Valley, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We visit the Marina on every trip to Amelia and it never fails to be the best meal on the island. The Seafood platter is always delicious and I love the clam chowder. The sides are good as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jubuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    145
    82
    58
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Cute little Southern beach town seafood spot. Everything was going fine, good food, good service. Until a 'well heeled' family arrived about half way through our meal.

It was only a couple with their two small children and what appeared to be a nanny, so you wouldn't think that should disrupt their entire operation. They were seated privately, in another room. All of the wait staff disappeared to that room. We did not see our server again. After some time waiting, we stopped the busboy and inquired about our check. Forget about dessert or a drink(no one offered). He came back a few minutes later with our handwritten check and said we would have to go up front to find out what the total was. Honestly, we have never been treated so rudely in our lives! To see them snub us, and all of the other patrons in the main room was unforgivable. The food was good, which is why I gave them a 3 but I will never set foot in this place again.

Helpful?
Thank decaturgafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We ate at this restaurant twice. The first night we had a seafood platter for two. Very large portions. The second night we had chopped steak dish with onions. Both meals were delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Not gourmet, not a great view, but old fashioned comfort food. We had fried shrimp which were fresh and well cooked, not greasy, but French fries were. Reasonably priced and relaxed.

Helpful?
Thank Birdwalk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Southern seafood at it's best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I think this is the longest operating restaurant in Fernandina Beach, and they know what they are doing when it comes to Southern Fried Seafood. Yes, they can prepare your seafood several different ways(baked; broiled; and fried) and all the seafood was probably caught that day.The wait staff is great and the service comes with southern hospitality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EDWARD Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Marina Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing