We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location”

Brett’s Waterway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Cafe seems an understated name for this restaurant. The food was fabulous. we were a large party with diversity of dishes chosen and everyone was happy with their selections. Great location - only suggestion is they could do with more outside seating opportunities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    498
    206
    76
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Views at Brett's”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We came to this restaurant with no reservations with 7 people and it was Friday night. When we were told that we would have to eat outside or wait 45 minutes we started to leave and the manager came out and said that someone had just cancelled a reservation and that we could come on in! The food was excellent. Mahi Mahi right off the boat. Little K had the Shrimp fettuccine and the boys had the kids grilled cheese toast. A great place to eat and great atmosphere!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank walkerj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
479 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice waterfront view with great food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great food, excellent, friendly and knowledgeable waitstaff. The Sunday afternoon we lunched at Bretts, and although the restaurant was crowded service was terrific as was the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieinsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food, and service on the waterfront!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Once a year I meet some very good friends at Brett's for lunch. It is always an event that we all look forward to and are never disappointed. The dining room is nice and open with many window seats that overlook the water. It also has a very nice outdoor patio where you can enjoy your meal with a cool breeze (not in July or August) and beautiful waterfront views, including the shrimp boats and a few yachts. The food is varied and quite delicious. Prices are moderate, so I go there as a treat. The staff is also very friendly and seem to take a personal interest. I highly recommend this relaxing fun eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaceodessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch in a relaxing setting...”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I had lunch yesterday at Brett's Waterway Cafe. We sat outside and started with the crab dip which was fresh and very tasty. She had the special pan seared blackened mahi-mahi with an andouille sausage creole sauce over a bed of steamed rice. I had the grouper special fish and chips. The fish and chips were battered and fried to perfection. However, the seared blackened mahi mahi special was a home run! I did order the shrimp bisque which was watery and had no taste of shrimp which got sent back. Hopefully, their next batch will be more bisque like. Overall, the food, service,and relaxing scenic view made it a wonderful lunch. I recommend this restaurant and we will be back for another visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vafoodie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brett’s Waterway Cafe also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Brett’s Waterway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing