We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Joe”

Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in historic downtown Fernandina Beach, Joe's 2nd St. Bistro serves innovative cuisine in a relaxed, island atmosphere. Enjoy fresh seafood specialties in a 1900's home, or outside in a New Orleans inspired Courtyard.
Level Contributor
448 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Average Joe”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Second time at Joe's and inconsistent is first word to come to mind. The staff was extremely accommodating as we in 'in-out-in' as they do have one of the best courtyards to dine in within Centre St. area. Server was timid and unassuring. Hostess was perfect. The setting inside is nice. The food was simply average as we had the corn husker grouper and pasta with shrimp/scallops. The shrimp cocktail appetizer was delicious and best item we had this evening. We finished by sharing apple bread pudding with coffee to disappointment. Again, service and hostess were overall refreshing but food is what keeps us coming back. Choices!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    199
    83
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Steak”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well 3 out of 4 of us ordered their (everyweekend) special prime rib. All were prepared perfectly to our liking, mine done to the chefs choice which turned out to be nice and rare. It melted me blissfully into nirvana. We sat outside which was perfect except for the weird rather intrusively loud music from The Green Turtle. The 4th ordered a fillet mignon which came too rare for a med-rare order. Our server was a bit to divulging about the state of mind in the kitchen on a busy night not to mention the shrimp appetizer which arrived in stead of the crab cakes that were ordered. Sending 2 plates back screwed up the timing of dinner and left us feeling puzzled for a pricy night out.

The food was fantastic. I'll give them another chance, probably off season, but the staff is on probation at the moment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icosahedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Joe's 2nd Street - awesome”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had their grits and shrimp in a tomato sauce - heavenly.
On the other hand their chocolate dessert (creamy white and dark chocolate surrounded by cake and topped with ice cream and whipped cream) was to die for. Absolutely worth the calories!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and dining experience.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We sat at a table on the upper porch and it was delightful. The service was excellent and the shrimp and scallops over linguine was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just off of crowded Center St, this bistro was a delight, albeit perhaps a little pricey for lunch. The daily soup was great, but a small portion. Would have liked at least some crackers to be offered, if not bread. Otherwise, no complaints.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simple-Thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Joe's 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing