We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not first choice for breakfast, or 2nd”
Review of Jack & Diane's

Jack & Diane's
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack & Diane's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
North Westchester, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not first choice for breakfast, or 2nd”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

After a few wonderful breakfasts at other Amelia spots, we tried this long established place. I will not mix words. Burnt coffee, forgotten silverware, curt, cold service. Food was passable but hard to enjoy when served with a frown. When was the last time you were eating breakfast and the server did not ask how the food was, if you need more coffee, etc. she never even thanked us and i tipped 20%, felling bad for her. Perhaps this was a bad day, but other diners also had questioning faces.

Bottom line is there are plenty of great breakfast places on the island, this is not one of them, at least not now. Regretably,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harvsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    64
    39
    54
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Visited for lunch on a Saturday. Very casual. We sat on the porch. Had a salad that was supposed to have shrimp and crab on it, but it only had shrimp; but plenty of it. It was very good. It was a nice place for lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GimmeKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Plenty of Attitude, no food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The welcome sign on the front porch says Food with Attitude. We were greeted with surprise when we ordered vanilla coffee featured for that morning. When the coffee arrived it was luke warm and tasted old. We inquired if we might have a fresh pot. The waitress did not answer, shook her head and left the table. We could hear the kitchen complaining from our table. We decided not to stick around for the food, who knows what would happen. We cancelled our order, asked for the bill and were presented with the entire check with no apology. Not a great way for our friend to start her birthday!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than Tapas”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

They have a "tasting" menu where most items are $5. Easy to have a half dozen dishes and share to get the most of their different fare. Will definitely go again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sgt126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“had the restaurant to ourselves - decent meal”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stopped in at this restaurant - had the place to ourselves - menu has many varied choices available -- we took the slow roasted sausage pasta plate and soup/sandwich/salad trio -- food was promptly brought out - drinks were topped off as needed -- the pasta was cooked well - and plenty of sausage -- the trio -- the roasted red pepper soup was good - the wrap was very good and tried one of the house salad dressings -- the salad was all fresh -- not a huge fan of the one salad dressing but that would just be a personal choice --was surprised no one else came in while we were there ( at supper time) Nothing overly fancy - but good food - all fresh and all well made -- would definitely go back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack & Diane's also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Amelia Island, FL
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Jack & Diane's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing