We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a Shot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonito Grill & Sushi - CLOSED

Bonito Grill & Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give it a Shot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This restaurant is good for lunch or dinner. They have a menu that should fit everyone, the bento box is the best. They have excellent sushi and the fired mushrooms are great! I do not like mushrooms, but love these!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jb1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N. Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surprised at the high quality dinner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been by this restaurant many times before, often it was crowded and we just moved on. Went earlier in the evening this time and had the place to ourselves. Went in for sushi and a drink, but stayed and had a fabulous ahi tuna dinner with spinach and crab meat. Serving size was excellent but even more the taste was superb. Really impressed with the quality of the food and the presentation for the cost. I'll be anxious to get back to Fernandina and eat at Bonita Grill again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sceneitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Good (not great), over-priced sushi worth skipping despite the historic, downtown location and decent atmosphere. We went for a special occasion and left after an un-remarkable meal. We had a tasty, fried lobster special in addition to our usual maki roll picks. If it is the best sushi on the island, it is only because the other options are more casual or focused more on Japanese grill options.

Helpful?
Thank Jared P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the swordfish with mango and black bean salsa and my husband had the tuna; both were excellent. I would definitely recommend eating here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MajinBuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long wait but friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

While the food was tasty (recommend the calamari and the spicy yellowtail-not the one with scallions) the food took a long time to get to us- the place was "really busy" with about 7 of 40 tables seated. Also, who was served last, you might ask? Our toddler, who while behaving acceptably, was getting pretty hungry. They were very accommodating for her with crayons so that was nice.

Helpful?
Thank m034842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Grill & Sushi also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing