We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Quixote's - CLOSED

Don Quixote's
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved the low key atmosphere, our server Richard was most impressive from his knowledge of food to his personal recommendation of wine. The food was even better, queen sword is show stopper, you cant find a better presentation in town, the manager was always smiling and made us feel more then welcome, next time we chose fine dining there won't even be a second guess. P.S. make reservations for Friday and Saturday, they are very popular with the locals and fills up quick

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gosselin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, great atmosphere, food was amazing. As soon as we sat down the wait staff brought bread and took our drink order. Large selection of Tapas and good wine list. Sangria was amazing. Salads were very good. Grouper special was one of the best dishes I have had. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank bob_guilmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
233 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We plan this fantastic weekend in Amelia Island with a focus around dining in cute local places that are highly rated on TripAdvisor. Our first choice - Don Quixote's. We opted to get there a little early since we had just spent several hours driving. The rear of the dining room had what appeared to be a party of 10 and the main dining room in the front had maybe 2 tables occupied. The greeter looked at us, checked his podium and told us he couldn't seat us because they were booked for the night. Seriously? Well, we gave them the benefit of the doubt thinking we could just come back some other time during the weekend and sat outside at Pepper's for a drink and appetizer. By the time we left the restaurant next door this place still had more than half the restaurant empty. I found this very distasteful. If you don't know how to manage seating and can only predict how full you're going to be based on reservations then you should advertise you're a reservation only location. We had dinner at 29 South Eats - the experience was amazing!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flstorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netto3003, Manager at Don Quixote's, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
that's is total not fair that you never ate at the restaurant,you and your husband put 2 terrible reviews (the only ones) just to hurt us ,I even send you a apologies and a invitation for a free dinner for 2 . thanks your loyal costmers the support is beem great and we still waiting your responce with open arms... Netto Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped by at 5:45 on a Friday evening with no reservation. There were about 20 tables in this place. 12 were empty. They told us they were booked and we should have made a reservation. Okay…fair enough. Maybe they were expecting a huge crowd between 6 – 7. We went next door to Pepper’s for a drink and appetizer. At 6:45 when we walked back by they were still over half empty. And again an hour or two later they were more than half empty. We did have a wonderful dinner at 29 South Eats (highly recommend them). But I was so disappointed in Don Quixote’s. We would have been in and out in under an hour. I just don’t understand their logic. But that is all it takes. I will never go back. And that is that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mako2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netto3003, Manager at Don Quixote's, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
that's is total not fair that you never ate at the restaurant,you and your husband put 2 terrible reviews (the only ones) just to hurt us ,I even send you a apologies and a invitation for a free dinner for 2 . thanks your loyal costomers the support is beem great and we still waiting your responce with open arms... Netto Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don Quixote Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The restaurant is new and service was excellent. The seafood risotto was excellent. My wife had 2 tapas: shrimp and lamb meatballs. The shrimp was excellent but the meatballs were dry. No problem in returning them and we were not charged for them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plymstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Quixote's also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing