We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit!”

Amelia Island Museum of History
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The "townspeople" were all so friendly and hospitable every place we visited. The museum was especially interesting. We enjoyed the tour thoroughly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 93Buster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    125
    40
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Local Museum”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Who knew that Amelia Island had so much history? This little local museum cost $7 but it is the perfect stop on a trip to Fernandina Beach! My husband and I have been to many museums and we were impressed with amount of interested history we learned about Ameilia Island. The staff is very friendly and will gladly you point you to all the historic houses in Fernandina Beach. Interactive and cool exhibits make this a great little stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank misshistorybarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, PA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An excellent history museum.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The guided tour was excellent. We travelled from room to room and the guide chose the appropriate flag for each room, eight flags in all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 551melm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I would highly recommend doing the guided tour at the Museum. The knowledge of the guided tour and how he told us about the history of Amelia Island it felt as if we were going back in time. Just a wonderful experience and I would truly recommend going here first before any place to understand the history and to appreciate the Island even more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jilyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglasville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“family history”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

went looking for family items from over 100 years ago and found them in museum. some of my ancestors lived on Fernandina in the late 1800's. It was awesome to see their belongings and pictures preserved.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing