We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting local museum.”

Amelia Island Museum of History
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
arlington va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting local museum.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the Amelia Island Museum. It was a nice way to learn about the local area and it was really interesting. They even have a cute little scavenger hunt. Since the museum is laid out in an old building the rooms are not in any real chronological order, which I found a odd.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anazelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    125
    40
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Local History Museum”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Enjoyed this good local history museum located in the old jailhouse. They had interesting exhibits on the long history of the area, from the doomed Timucuan Indians, to the European settlers, and how the area has been under 8 different flags. They also had exhibits explaining the development of local business/industry, like Shrimp/fishing, and the papermills that are still important local employers. Thought it was well worth the time for a history buff, especially if you take the time to read the plaques/displays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jail Time”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Really had fun here.

Back in the late 60's my husband spent the night in what was the county jail for speeding (now the museum) they fed him Spam and corn for dinner. There is still a jail cell there.

The docent that took us on the tour of the museum was so in awe of his story, she was going to include it in her stories of the museum.

Really fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank car5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I Felt like a 48 year old kid”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The scavenger hunt stamps were fun collecting from room to room. The facility was interesting and the greeter was very friendly and informative. She told us about the Christmas house tours

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice litte museum...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited one Friday afternoon and it was a great way to cool off after lunch at T-Rays! The lady at the front admission desk was super friendly and gentile. She also offered us a guided tour of the museum but we chose to go on our own. A visit here provides a great introduction to the history and quaintness of this lovely little seaside town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cindersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing