We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“History and fun at the Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“History and fun at the Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It always has Photography and Exhibits and Speakers in tune with the Holidays that offer insights to the way of life in North Florida through the years

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adriankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    109
    33
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I wasn't too enthused about going to this museum, but my husband was curious, so I agreed. I was really amazed with the area's History and the unique way in which it was presented. Our docent was top notch, but humble and appreciated others input as well. Very nicely done!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A rainy day project!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We took a 2 hour tour of this museum with our guide Michael who was a joy to be with and came away with much knowledge of the local history..in particular the "8 Flags" of Amelia. We highly recommend a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank spryfieldCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we did the hour guide through the eight flags and he was really knowledgeable it was really cool as well seeing the old prison

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lyssa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take the special tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited the museum last year and had a great time. We took the special guided tour and recieved a great presentation of the history of the region and Fernandina Beach. My wife and I both enjoy the historical background of Fernandina beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmfiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Island Museum of History also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing