We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like the best kept secret that ereryone should know.”

Amelia Community Theater
Attraction details
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's like the best kept secret that ereryone should know.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have only discovered this theatre recently and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. We are hooked!!
We particularly liked the Rocky Horror Show. Patrick and Jason - brilliant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional Local Theater”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This facility is perfect for local theater productions. The seating and acoustics are exceptional. The entire facility is clean, bright, and inviting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great experience, wrong production”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If there is a performance scheduled during your visit to Fernandina Beach, by all means spend an evening at the Amelia Community Theater. This vibrant artistic community is making great strides toward establishing a first tier performing arts center. The theater is new, the community is committed. Unfortunately, we happened upon a performance that was not up to the standards of small, affluent Florida arts communities we've sampled elsewhere. Two of the five actors in "Deathtrap" had such unintelligible accents (British, Dutch) that their words were lost. We'll have to rent the movie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun was had by all”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Four family members of quite different ages had so much fun when we saw an original comedy!
Every seat is excellent. They do have a cah bar as intermission. This is a beautiful community theater.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patty-cake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Fun Evening”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Amelia Community Theater (ACT) provided a fun night of live theater in this charming seaside town. We attended the Neil Simon comedy, "God's Favorite." The acting was what you would expect in a small town, so don't attend if you want Tony Award winning acting. On the other hand, the set construction for this play was remarkably first rate. We walked the short distance from the Hampton Inn to this pretty little theater. If I lived in Amelia Island, I would be a Season Ticket holder, but when I return, I will definitely attend another show. Note: Opening night of each run has free pre-show hors d'oeuvres.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Community Theater also viewed

 

Been to Amelia Community Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing