We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Across From Main Public Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are lucky enough to find Amelia Island, then you are lucky enough! This small hotel us a great alternative to the luxury resorts south of it. If you budget allows, stay at the Ritz or Omni on the island. If not, this little hotel cannot be beat for location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offtheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We must agree with you, if you find Amelia Island you are lucky indeed. I am pleased we were able to give you a pleasant experience while visiting here in our piece of paradise. We hope you will come back to stay again! We look forward to hosting your next getaway!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 780 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We always enjoy our trip to Amelia Hotel. I agree with other guests on the hotel showing it's age- however, I recently saw on their FB that they have new carpet (which to me was the worst of the wear). We have been to Amelia several times and stayed at AHatB 3 times (my husband 4, as he stayed there the night before our wedding). The location could not be better. The room was clean and the staff is always friendly and attentive. This last time we had severe issues with the wi-fi, to the point we would step outside and just use our cellphone service to check emails/look for places to eat. We told the front desk what a pain it was and she noted it was being looked into. We don't go on vacation to stay on our phones and instead of being able to quickly handle something simple we had to go through an ordeal anytime we wanted to look up restaurants. We will go back- maybe with an air card next round!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reestakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for the review. We appreciate all feedback, and try to use it to better serve our guests in the future. PLease come back and stay again. I think you will appreciate the changes being made.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is not a fancy hotel and its a bit tired in the main areas of the hotel. However, our room and bed were comfortable. There is a frig and microwave in the room. We actually had a view of the ocean, which was very nice. We also were directly across the street from a decent bar called Sliders and the public beach. They had the typical breakfast bar which is good in a pinch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drakem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. I do hope you come back once our new flooring is complete. We are very excited about the improvements that are being made around the hotel. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach and I'm not sure what I was expecting but maybe something a little more updated. The carpet in the hallways is very worn and faded; the rooms look like they've seen some piece-meal updates but it just wasn't the quality we were expecting.

The location is great, across the street from the beach. The support staff are excellent, and really responsive to requests. They're trying hard - I have to give them credit for their hard work.

One area in particular I just couldn't get over was the linens. The bed linens were poor at best. There was no fitted sheet or mattress pad. And the sheet put on the mattress must have been a queen size (instead of king) because it kept coming up in the middle of the night, exposing the mattress. No duvet cover over the comforter - just sheets again and those came off of it easily too. Just doesn't feel very sanitary.

Also, seemed somewhat stingy with bath towels, provided one per person - no extras and sometimes we didn't get hand towels. Not the biggest deal but sometimes inconvenient if you just need an extra towel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RL-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your standards. You are correct about our carpeting, and in fact it is being replaced this week. We will have new carpeting on all three floors, as well as some other upgrades. The towel situation is distressing, and for future reference you can always call the front desk for anything extra you need, and we will happily bring it to you. I have shared with housekeeping your issues with the towels, but we can find no room that is without a mattress pad. If you don't mind calling to let me know which room you stayed in, I can follow up on that as well.

I hope you do come back to stay with us again. We really appreciate your input, and are always working to improve our guest's stay. We would love to have another chance to give you a different impression.

Sincerely,
K. Bennett
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We came to attend a memorial for a friend who used to live on the island. The hotel allowed us to check in early since our flight arrived earlier and we needed to change to attend the memorial. We found the hotel's location to be excellent! Across the street from the beach which is calming even when it's a bit chilly still in northern Florida. It's also across from a seafood restaurant with good food and service. The hotel also serves a good morning breakfast and has a good size refrigerator and microwave in the room. You can walk to stores and many other places since many are located across the street and down the street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit will be warmer, and you can enjoy all the island has to offer. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My mother-in-law came to visit and could not climb the stairs up into our beach home. She stayed at the Amelia Hotel and really enjoyed herself. The room was very clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful and sweet. We had trouble getting her to come with us for breakfast because she said she had a nice breakfast at the Hotel. Thank you very much for taking such great care of her. She already wants to come back and stay at her Hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda1035B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you so very much for the kind review. We try to treat all of our guests like they are at home, so it is nice to hear we succeeded in your mother's case.
We have many locals whose families stay with us while they visit. It warms our heart to know that we are appreciated.
We look forward to her next visit. Thank you again for the vote of confidence.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The lobby is nice and clean. That's about all the nice things I can say. Do not get suckered into "Ocean View". It is a scam. You can see the ocean and you can also see the dirty restaurant that is actually on the beach. This Hotel is not on the beach. The hallways are dingy and dirty. I posted pictures of dirtybeds in the stairwell.
The hot and healthy breakfast was neither hot nor healthy. The staff was very rude. The man who checked us out on Jan. 27 should not even be in customer service. To put it one way he was just not a nice man. There are other places to go in FL. Save your money don't stop here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Luckyinlove2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We apologize your stay was not up to your standards. We do not advertise as being on the beach. We are across the street from the beach. We advertise our property as just that, across the street. Our ocean views are partial ocean views because of our location, and in all descriptions they are defined as partial ocean views.
I am saddened to hear of your experience with our staff, because as you can read from other reviews, almost everyone finds them friendly and helpful.
Our breakfast contains eggs, sausage and biscuits, made fresh and served hot each day, as well as yogurt, fresh fruit, and other options. There is something for everyone.
Yes, there was a mattress stored in our back stairwell as we waited for the wet weather to cease so we could move it out. We are actively doing updates in our off season, and we did replace some mattresses. That is a good thing, and unfortunately for us, Mother Nature sometimes does not co-operate.
I wish you would have taken the opportunity to speak with management about your experience. I have had no contact from anyone experiencing the issues that you state here on Tripadvisor. Again we do apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
554 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,543 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $70 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Island. A Southern jewel in the Sea Island chain of barrier islands with 13 miles of pristine, uncrowded Atlantic beaches framed by natural beauty. Centrally nestled on Amelia Island is the locally owned and operated Amelia Hotel at the Beach. Wake up to the beauty of the beaches with a deluxe east view room or hear the calls of the ocean from the premium Terrace Suite featuring a whirlpool tub, fireplace, and a balcony. Amenities include an outdoor pool warmed by the Florida sunshine, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and wireless internet access. A public beach access is also just a few steps away from the front doors of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing