We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Babylon, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location for an ok hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we called to make a reservation we were quoted a price. When we called back five minutes later and spoke to someone else we were quoted a different price. When we questioned the second person about the previous rates we were told that yes that price was available but it did not allow for a cancellation (we were calling the morning we wanted to check in). We opted for this package as it saved us quite a bit. Upon our arrival that afternoon a bus was dropping offing a charter load of people attending a family reunion. The front desk did an amazing job getting everyone checked in and we were given a room away from the noise. The next morning we left the notice on the bed (along with a tip) asking to change the blanket and sheets as there was a stain on the blanket and a hole in the fitted sheet. That evening when we went to bed we noticed the blanket had been changed but the same set of sheets were on the bed. The next morning we requested the sheets be changed again (no tip this time) and again we were disappointed that evening to discover that they had not been changed. When we reported this to the front desk at check out they were apologetic but that is about it. We did like the size of the room along with the counter top that that hosted the microwave and refrigerator however the room (especially the bathroom) could have used some sprucing up. The location was great as we were right across from the beach.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in a room on the parking lot side of the hotel as the ocean view is very limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exercise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    295
    141
    56
    27
See reviews for
204
339
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very easy to find and located across the street from the beach. The breakfast included eggs and meat, along with other staples. Had wonderful conversations and local information from their maintenance man, Nate Greene. The hotel definitely had a family-friendly atmosphere, in an excellent location.
Their meeting room was a perfect hospitality suite for our military reunion.

Room Tip: The top floor with even high number range gives excellent views of sunrise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is easy to find and is directly across from the beach. Upon arrival we were greeted by a pleasant man at the reception desk. He gave us local maps and discount coupons for the area as well as oral directions to the historic center which is just a short drive. The rates here are really reasonable for such a nice facility and all the amenities. There is a pool , exercise room and a really good hot breakfast all included in the room rate. The room was extremely clean, large and bright. Refrigerator and TV along with a coffee pot and microwave are in the room. The rooms are quiet and we never heard a sound all night. The bed was a really comfortable king size and the bathroom was spotless with a granite vanity and nice array of soaps and shampoos. Large plush towels were provided and they offer beach towels should you decide to go to the beach which is just across the street. There is a great restaurant directly across the street and right on the beach with an ocean view.

Room Tip: If you don't reserve in advance ask for the "internet" rate when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunoBeachGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here after 2 nights at a b&b for a cheaper place to stay by the ocean. The ocean is located right across the street and tons of shops in walking distace. Really cool park across street too. Just your typical hotel but nice and roomy. If u want to enjoy the beach and stay almost on top of it without paying a lot, this is the place! Sliders restaurant right across the street with awesome crabcake sliders!

Room Tip: they have a continental breakfast that was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We love our stay here. Excellent service. Welcoming and hospitable. A nice breakfast is served, accommodating those hungry to wanting to eat light.
The mattresses are too hard though. Tossed and turned all night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The folks at the front desk were very nice and accommodating. We really liked the room, it was clean, very comfortable and up to date. Slept very well. Had a lovely view of the ocean and they kindly accommodated us with a late check-out so we could go to the beach in the morning. Their free hot breakfast was great. Scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals... something for everyone. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for the best view possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I booked a 2 day stay as part of a package I had read about in the Travel section of the newspaper. I was looking forward to celebrating my birthday with a stay at the beach and sailing LESSONS. I booked the balcony with partial beach view, which was way overstated. It's really a veiw of A1A and a vacant lot next to the bar/restaurant that's on the beach. The room was huge, but it smelled perpetually musty and the under the window a/c unit ran non-stop. It also drained on to the carpet, leaving a huge area of it wet and messing up the wall underneath the unit. The bed appeared to have a memory foam mattress, which was comfortable, however, the base/box springs(?) was noisy, There was a microwave & refrigerator in the room, as well as a coffee maker, but we used none of these, except the refrigerator (to hold restaurant leftovers and bottled waters). The breakfast in the lobby was alright, but Holiday Inn and Days Inn do it better for a whole lot less. The package I bought ended up being totally bogus- instead of sailing lessons, it was a sail, but it was booked for EARLY morning by the hotel and there was no wind, so it was a 2 hr motor. The sailing company does offer lessons, so clearly, the hotel either miscommunicated or misrepresented the package. For what it cost, I could have stayed in the lovely B&B in the Historic District and booked my own sail at a more appropriate time of day.To make matters worse...there was a cockroach on the bedstand the first morning. When it was mentioned to the staff-barely a reaction. Next time, I will stay at the chain hotel next door or in the historic district...

Room Tip: don't pay for the "balcony room" not worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pkerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#6 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
395 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing