We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of beachy heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Our adult children who are students living in New York wanted a little Thanksgiving get-a-way this year in a more balmy tropical environment so we decided to meet them on Amelia Island at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach. What a great decision! Our weather wasn't perfect, but our stay couldn't have been better! With friendly staff, a great location, and clean rooms, this was the perfect beach hotel for us. There might be fancier places to stay, but we really liked the homey and relaxed feel of AHaB. Oh! and our bed was great! Very comfortable! The Island is a small town and the staff treated us like old friends who'd come back for a visit. It is located just across the street from the beach and from shops to get you set up for bike riding, or surfing or whatever. It is also just across the street from the restaurant, Sliders, that is beach side and has live music,. They offer a 10% discount if you show your room key, so we checked it out. We thought the food and service there was great, but the music makes it a must visit! It's a pretty quick drive to the historic district with more shopping and restaurants to enjoy. We went to the Crab Shack and the crab legs and oysters were delicious! So... Great people, great location, great hotel! Yep, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 789 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

The walls are paper thin and they have the adjoining doors inside the room which makes it even worse. The hallways were dirty and the floors were sticky (never mopped).
The supposed "ocean view" was more of a glimpse, and then only if you were standing. Our room overlooked the dumpster/loading dock of the restaurant across the street and to see the ocean you had to look over the roofline while standing up.
There was no security at all. We had some out of control guests running the halls and the only one on site was the poor girl at the desk. Finally she threatened to call the police around 3:00 am and things calmed down.
Aother prime example of how the internet pictures are better than reality. It should be labeled "motel" rather than hotel. Despite attempts at renovations, it seems to be on the verge of neglected.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cj7Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was out first visit to Amelia Island so we didn't know what to expect. Being off-season the only thing we were sure of on our two day stay is that it would be quiet.

On arrival we found housekeeping cleaning the lobby and polishing the elevators. Always a good sign. Check-in was friendly and fast. The desk clerk upgraded us to a second floor room with an ocean view since it was slow. Nice touch. She noted that the restaurant across the street, Sliders offered a 10% discount for hotel guests. I'll get to that in a little later.

The room was large with a very comfortable bed with new linens and lots of pillows. Yes the property is a little dated but the rooms are functional and very clean. And they made the room up perfectly on day two. Kudos to housekeeping.

The property is across the street from the beach and they provide beach chairs and towels at no charge. Another plus.

If there is any bad news it is the surrounding area. There are just four restaurants within walking distance. A Dairy Queen, a family style fish place, a BBQ place that was more biker bar than a restaurant and the aforementioned Sliders. The only place that suits our tastes was Sliders which is directly on the beach. We spent the first day on the beach and had both lunch and dinner at the tiki bar. The food was very good. We decided to go back for dinner on day two and did not have a good experience. An inept waiter and some food that was not properly cooked pretty much ruined the evening.

There are many restaurants and shops in the historic district which is 4 miles away. We spent day two shopping and had lunch there. My suggestion is that if its the beach you seek and don't mind a short drive for food stay at the Amelia Hotel. It is a very well maintained property. If shopping and dining is your thing and don't mind a short drive for a little sea and sand, stay in the historic district.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlestonTwoOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The room we had was ocean view, very clean and had microwave with coffee pot and fridge. Room was almost like home, kids will love it. Housekeeping was very courteous and always had room very clean. WIFi available. Large tv. Must see for any tourists that want ocean side rooms. I would highly recommend to anyone. Non-smoking but smokers can step out to smoking area. Will stay again next trip to Amelia Island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

By the pictures, it looks much nicer than what it actually was. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. It is called Amelia Hotel at the Beach but in all truth it is across the street from the beach, not actually on it. The service was great and our room was clean, so I thought it was a good value for what we spent .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We would have never found nor stayed at this hotel were it not for a small gathering of my high school buddies from 1954. Our stay was delightful. The room was large, well appointed and well maintained. We arrived prior to official check-in time and were given a room immediately. The staff was great the price was excellent and should the opportunity arise it will our first choice for the area.

If you are looking for a property to hold a small meeting, family reunion, or any other type of get together, this is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My first impression of the Hotel was nice but my friend got bed bugs after staying there the first night.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyAmeliaIsland, General Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We take your comments very seriously here at Amelia Hotel. We do not and have not gotten any reports about bed bugs at our hotel. We do not show you as a guest and your friend did not make a report, comment or a phone call to us at any time in the past. People who depend on comments from Trip Advisor and other travel sites have a right to expect factual information whether good or bad. Please be certain your information is accurate. As General Manager of Amelia Hotel I welcome your personal contact to discuss this further.
H. Germano
1-877-263-5428

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
562 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,561 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $73 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Island. A Southern jewel in the Sea Island chain of barrier islands with 13 miles of pristine, uncrowded Atlantic beaches framed by natural beauty. Centrally nestled on Amelia Island is the locally owned and operated Amelia Hotel at the Beach. Wake up to the beauty of the beaches with a deluxe east view room or hear the calls of the ocean from the premium Terrace Suite featuring a whirlpool tub, fireplace, and a balcony. Amenities include an outdoor pool warmed by the Florida sunshine, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and wireless internet access. A public beach access is also just a few steps away from the front doors of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing