We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Ohatchee, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Hotel!”
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Amelia Hotel and Suites. We traveled to Amelia Island for pleasure and to be close to Jacksonville for the Alabama/Florida State game. First, their location and rates are terrific! We got a double room on the third floor for $125 per night, which is well below the rates for the nearby hotels. Plus, this hotel is right across for the beach! There are plenty of dining options nearby. Sliders is across the street on the beach and Dairy Queen and Shoneys are right next door. I highly recommend going down the street to eat at the Surf. The atmosphere is fun and the food is relatively inexpensive and good. The hotel is currently undergoing a rennovation, which is good. Many of the things in our room were worn down and the beds were REALLY hard! The continential breakfast isn't anything to really anything to brag about. However, the attendants at the front desk were very nice and helpful and can give you all of the information you need. This hotel is gong to be completely awesome once the rennovations are complete! Also, if you get a chance, do check out the historic section of Fernandina Beach! It's awesome! Angel's Porch is a wonderful place to get a bite to eat! Our trip to Amelia Island was great and our stay at this hotel nice! We recommend it and would return!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank purplevictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    289
    137
    53
    27
See reviews for
195
333
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Stayed at Amelia Island Hotel for a 5 day getaway. We orginally booked the Hampton Inn, but it was not near the water or beach. The resort was far too pricy and a little too formal. We found the Amelia Hotel which is right at the beach! A great beach without all the crowds of the beach nearer town. We could walk right out the door and across the street - there is a small restaurant on the beach - when we got tired or wanted to change in 3 minutes we were in our room.

The staff is very polite and all locals who know where everything is and offerred numerious options for eating out, tours and what shops we could find some new sandels.

The front desk was very helpful and prompt in making rental arrangements for us as the kids want to try Wave Runners and my wife wanted chairs and a cabana for the beach. The staff came through with everything - it was almost as if we were at a resort hotel, but at substantially less cost.

Ask the desk about the Trolly - what a great little way to get around. Recommend doing this first day to get an idea of the island and where everything is, including a history of the town, fort and local hang-outs.

The room we had was pleasent and good size. We did see that they are redoing all the rooms and the new rooms looked awesome. If you check in I suggest your request the new upgradded rooms.

The pool at the hotel was a tad small, but ideal for the kids after a day at the beach or after our various tours.

If you going for the beach stay or the golf (which is great) I hughly recomend this hotel. BEst location, best rates for rooms and must be the best staff on the island.

  • Liked — Located at the beach, clean, friendly staff, feel safe
  • Disliked — No exercise room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

I had made my reservation thru Orbitz but when I had gotten to hotel I did not have a reservation. The front desk lady was very nice and professional and got me into a room. The rooms were not good. Beds were so old that the mattresses were sunk in and you could feel every spring. The hotel itself is very drab and boring looking. You would think since it is on an island it would look more tropical. I cut my trip short and checked out a day early and went next door to the Best Western.

  • Liked — Check in lady went out of her way to try to please me
  • Disliked — Old and worn rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WiccaPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Stayed at this hotel recently and was very very disappointed. The rooms were not clean and had a horrific smell. There were also bugs in the room and when complained to the hotel staff they didn't seem surprised and was not apologetic at all. The surroundings of the hotel were not very well kept, it had the appearence of a cheap motel.

The pictures on their website and brochure are very deceiving. The ocean view is basically a view of the patchy muddy lawn.
I would definately think twice before staying at this definately not Inn and Suites.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — almost everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hello123Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Amelia hotel and suites advertises that they are a "pet friendly hotel" but fail to mention that there is a 25 pound weight limit on the pet. We arrived with our dog only to find out that he was not welcome. We had email to make sure that he would be able to stay and the websit guarenteed a response with in 24 hrs... we have not heard back from them yet. They staff did call next door to the Best Western and found that they had availiblity for that night but I do believe that if you have a limit on the pets weight you should advertise it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank larsannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

The hotel is older and the rooms/hallways are musty. Don't count on friendly staff or any extras. The hotel is across the street from the beach and although they charge for oceanview on the first and second floors the ocean can not be seen until the third. The pool sits directly behind the hotel with little deck space to sunbathe, which can only be done in late afternoon because the building shadows the pool. The discount coupons are honored only if they are below 50% occupancy.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank fish1Daytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,435 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing