We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Blue Heron was beautiful with every detail attended to. The room was lovely. The inn overall was beautiful with fresh flowers and lovely furnishings. The innkeeper was wonderfully engaging. The breakfast was perfect. We could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Fernadina Beach is a charming small town with great shops and resturants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Details are what make our guest feel pampered and special. Thanks for noticing them. We encourage guests to give us ideas on ways to make your stay even better.
See you Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
168
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I live in town and stayed here as a little get-away. It is beautifully decorated and the pool is lovely as well. The breakfast was delicious! David and Julie are very warm and thoughtful. I will defnitely be going back with my husband this summer when we can enjoy the pool and the weather!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aegossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We have many "local" guests that want to spend time away for special occasions and thank you for letting us be a part of yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Sc
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We only spent one night at the Blue Heron but it was very nice. The owners are very nice and helpful. The room was nice and the breakfast was super. Would stay here again if in the area. David was very helpful in getting us dinner reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Our island restaurants have some of the best food we've found and we are always happy to help guests find the perfect setting for dinner and enjoy some local music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This proved a great location to explore Amelia Island. It is close to everything in the historical district, and it was easy to explore the rest of the island. We especially appreciated that the owners went out of their way to allow us to use bicycles before we checked in. Also, we forgot something in our room and Julie sent it to us! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Finding your way around the island is fun on a bicycle with so many places to see and go. Free bicycles are just one of the many amenities we offer and are happy to give directions and suggestions on fun things to do. We always say "if you run out of things to do.. come see me."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved Blue Heron. Our first trip to Amelia Island. Found Blue Heron on Tripadvisor. Glad we did! Julie and David were great and so was our experience there. Julie is a fantastic cook! They both made us feel special in many ways. Good location! Don't miss the opportunity to stay there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We Love people that use Trip Advisor to find us, gives us reviews and now can even with Click Connect you can access or web site directly, so thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

David and Julie provided wonderful service at this lovely B&B on Amelia Island. We stayed in the Sandpiper room on the top floor which was secluded and perfect for a romantic stay. Breakfast each morning was awesome, and they were very flexible with our time (as we like to sleep in later than usual). The facility was immaculate, our room was wonderful and the two person Jacuzzi tub was awesome. The Inn was very centrally located within walking distance to restaurants and shopping, and only a few minutes drive to the Fort and related State Park. Wonderful stay all the way around. Highly recommended and David/Julie are fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose the Sandpiper if you want an wonderful room that is separate from the others and has an aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
So glad you enjoyed the Sandpiper Suite. Hope you will return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family spent a night in late November at this lovely Bed and Breakfast and it was an awesome experience. The home was decorated for Christmas and the hosts were so helpful and accommodating. They prepared a delicious gourmet breakfast the next morning and gave us tips on things to do in the area before we headed north for the Holiday. I look forward to staying there again and highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the Christmas decorations. Please join us for the Cookie Tour this year which occurs in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#6 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island

Property: Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Address: 102 S 7th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise awaits you at the Blue Heron Inn on Amelia Island. Experience the warmth and elegant comfort of a 19th century home transformed into a beautiful Florida Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing