We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amelia and Cumberland Island Tour”

On The Water Adventures - Private Tours
Ranked #15 of 38 Tours in Fernandina Beach
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amelia and Cumberland Island Tour”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Captain Carol is awesome! She is knowledgeable, friendly and really good at what she does which is take you to see things you won't see without a guide. In a short two-hour tour, we saw: several dolphin pods (including an albino dolphin), manatees, wild horses, mansion ruins, Fort Clinch, Ospreys, Ibis, egrets, roseate spoonbills and got the excellent perspective that could only be offered by an experienced local guide. Her hire-me-by-the-hour approach allows you to plan your own tour and she'll make it happen. If you are on Amelia and are looking for a great family activity to fill a half-day, give her a call. You won't be sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Water Trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a three hour tour with Captain Carol today. She was awesome. The boat was pristine. She had a cooler of water, sodas, and gatorade available. She had blankets if we got cold. She was filled with knowledge about the area and the waters. She took us to places I didn't think a boat could go. Our boys were never bored. We saw wild horses up close. That was really cool.
I would highly recommend this boat trip. It was one on one time and was worth the money!! One of the best we have ever done!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beezervacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always an Outstanding Time”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I have used Captain Carol for numerous charters the last several years and have always found the trips to be great nature experiences, punctuated with stories of local history. Captain Carol is extremely knowledgeable and informative of the wildlife that inhabits the waters and lands around Fernandina Beach. It is interesting how much ore we learn from her. We know of no one better than her. Her deep love of nature and the environment is always evident. It is always wonderful to combined a great outing on the water with the intimate interaction with Captain Carol. we have recommended her to several fiends over the years, and they took share in the delight of outings with Captain Carol.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daveb299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
“A wonderful water adventure”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Touring with Captain Carol is our highlighted event every time we visit Amelia Island!! We have enjoyed Captain Carol and her knowledge of the wildlife living there. I have enjoyed 3 and 4 hour tours. Dolphins, birds, horses and much more!! Winter, spring, summer or fall (I have been there in all seasons!) there is always some nature to be found! Captain Carol knows the nature that surrounds her on Amelia and Cumberland Island. Captain Carol is well informed and you can tell she loves her job! We think that she is just the best! We always feel very safe with her so I would recommend this tour to everyone of all ages. Money well spent!! We are repeat customers for sure! Thanks Captain for providing a wonderful service to the tourists!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent & knowledgeable tour guide!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and have visited a number of places and taken a few boat tours. I must say that Captain Carol was by far the most knowledgeable tour guide we've had. She knew lots of facts and information about the various islands and as well as the habits of the surrounding habitat. She knew the animals location vividly (storks, dolphins, etc) and was a pleasure to ride with. She was very friendly and in no hurry. We did a near 3 hr trip with her, even checking out a submarine at the St. Mary's naval base. Highly recommend this tour!! Well worth the money!!

Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Water Adventures - Private Tours also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to On The Water Adventures - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing