We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Nearby Hotels
Beachside Motel(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$105
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia Hotel at the Beach(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort(Fernandina Beach)
$404
$266
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$517
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveler rating
1,050
431
89
27
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,050
431
89
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric districtgreat locationtrain trackswithin walking distanceamelia islandshops and restaurantsthe breakfast areahotel is locatedking suitelight sleeperdowntown areacomplimentary breakfastvery nice hotelgreat place to stayfront desk staffcookiesshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is very nice, functional, rooms are a decent size, furntiture is very basic and decoration is also very basic, but all works and is in good order.
Staff is extremely friendly and quick to help.
Common areas such as lobby and breakfast area are very nice, and cozy, much nicer than a regular hampton inn
The layout of the hotel is odd, but after a while you get used to it.
I had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, dishwasher, fridge
Bathroom sink is in the bedrooom, outside room that has shower and toilet, so can be noisy for others sleeping in room.
My biggest disappointment, was the view from room, a parking lot, not so nice marina, shipping cranes and a smoke stack of a huge powerplant. Just adjacent from hotel there are railroad tracks and freight trains passing by, but I did not hear them, so I guess the hotel has good sound proofing. Of course this is not the hotel's fault, but on the flip side, the hotel is adjacent to the restaurant and shop area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at this property for four days. Our initial impression was most excellent, as the staff were all friendly and helpful. And that impression continued. The housekeeping staff was most diligent and our room was done by noon every day of our stay. The only complaint I had about housekeeping was that they did not provide a "make-up remover" towel in our room every day. But this is a very small complaint when all else was perfectly done - lots of towels, always a favorite with me. Jimmy Cooper (Director of Sales & Marketing) actually stopped us in the hall to invite us to the happy hour he hosts from 5 - 8 from Mon - Thurs. He was very welcoming and friendly. Hampton corporate should hire him to train all their personnel in guest services. He made every person feel welcome and appreciated. This is pretty rare in today's world. The happy hour was a very nice perk from the hotel (there is a minor charge for the beer and wine, with appetizers being offered for free). There were a great many conferences being held during our stay in the facilities of the hotel. We did use the business center a couple of times without any wait.

The location of this hotel is great, as it is just next door to the Visitors Center and a block from restaurants and shopping. Downtown Fernandina Beach has an abundance of excellent restaurants. Hampton Inn is just across the street from the harbor itself (and we enjoyed the company of the most excellent bar staff at Brett's Waterway Cafe (my review to be posted) right on the harbor.

As others have mentioned, the train tracks are next to the hotel and I was awakened during the night and at 6 a.m. on one night of our stay. I heard nothing after that. But if you are a light sleeper, you might wish to know this. Some have mentioned the parking and on the weekends, it does get a little crowded, but we had no issues with the parking whatsoever (but, of course, it is October). The hotel is right downtown so the location overrides any parking situation as far as we are concerned. The staff and the location MAKE THIS HOTEL! The breakfast is the typical Hampton breakfast and you can make your own waffles, which are really delicious. The breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful - in fact, I must say that the staff at this hotel is THE BEST we have encountered in all the years we have stayed at Hamptons (since they began).

We loved being able to walk out the door and shop or have a fabulous meal. It was extremely easy to drive to the beach from this hotel. If you are a beach person, you might prefer the Hampton Inn located nearer to the beach. We spent two mornings on the beach without any problems driving there quickly (although I imagine in summer, this is more difficult, as parking is limited).

Getting around the island was very easy and it was just a few miles to Fort Clinch (definitely worth a visit and the beach there is beautiful). When our stay was over, we were really pleased that we had chosen the Hampton Inn and Suites downtown at the Harbor - GLORIOUS SUNSETS and beautiful people - a lovely memory.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The location is great for this hotel. Right in the historic section. Restaurants within walking distance. Right off Centre Street and near the water. Parking is horrendous! There was a conference going on and we could not find parking and had to park across the street in public parking. Parking lot needs to be one way. Bathrooms were dated and needed a touch up. Showers needed TLC. Some mold on base. Great continental breakfast. Wish they would not use styrofoam plates with hot food items. Plates melted. Bed was uncomfortable for me...very puffy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 307dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Couldn't ask for a better location. Right in the hub of the shops and restaurants. Pool is small. Only 6 Loungers for all the guests. They serve hot and cold foods for breakfast. They ran out of items quickly and waited forever for them to restock. No balconies. No hot tub. Overall, we'll stay again. Room was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilangeleyes301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Though a Florida residents for many years, this was our first trip to Amelia Island. After reviewing all the hotels on Trip Advisor, we choose Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island for our stay, based on reviews of it's cleanliness and location.

Location is superb, in close proximity to the "historical" area of the island, unique shops and wonderful restaurants.

The free breakfast was plentiful, with hot and cold choices. The lobby coffee bar, available late morning to around dinner time was also a welcome "perk", after sightseeing and shopping all afternoon.

We reserved a one bedroom suite, with full size refrfigerator, micro, etc. Upon arrival we checked into the assigned room. It was clean and spacious. When traveling we prefer to keep all belongings in our suitcases, and inspect rooms upon arrival, in hopes of avoiding any unwanted "critters" from making our home their home. Later that evening, we found one "bug" on the bedside table. Front desk personnel immediately moved us to another suite, when requested.

Highly recommend Joe's Second Street Bistro for a great meal. Located across the street from the hotel., the food was top-notch. Try the second story "porch", as the view is lovely.

The shopping is lovely, in "renovated" historical buidings. We especially enjoyed the 2 bookstores and a "Go Fish" store which offers items from all over the world. Couldn't resist buying some very unique jewelry there, and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinBobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews