We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,707)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveler rating
1,115
449
97
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,115
449
97
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic district great location train tracks within walking distance amelia island shops and restaurants the breakfast area hotel is located king suite light sleeper downtown area very nice hotel complimentary breakfast great place to stay front desk staff living room short drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,443 - 1,448 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I have stayed with this hotel a few times over the last few years and have yet again not been disappointed. The check-in was smooth and flawless and our room was clean and comfortable, it even had a working fireplace and jetted tub. The hotel is wonderfully placed downtown in Fernandina within walking distance to some great bars and restaurants, but far enough away you don't get any of the raucous noises late at night. The breakfast in the morning was hot an plentiful, only lacking in a friendly server. The woman replenishing an maintaining the food area was rather grumpy and unfriendly. But everyone else more than made up for that, we will certainly find the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnkowalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants. It was very noisy in the middle of the night with lots of loud guests. Hotel needs updating. Not as nice as other Hampton Inns we have stayed at.

Room Tip: We had an internal room with a view of the pool. If we opened the window, we could have jumped in. Ask for a room away from the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share some quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the noise issue you encountered and we have shared your comments with our security team so we may better patrol for this issue moving forward. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the area and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time your travels bring you near.

Thank you,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Decided to go on a romantic getaway during the week and this was definitely a great choice. The hotel was sold out and they still got my romance package all set up in the room for me! Very impressive as i know how this can be difficult sometimes especially with a late check in.

The girls at the front desk are always so nice and accomodating and the rooms are great as well! Decided to the river tour and found out it literally was 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Also, they have a great breakfast buffet!

Definitely would stay here again if i come up to Amelia Island.

Room Tip: Check out the free breakfast buffet. Great selection of hot and cold food items!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbbinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We knew the hotel was by the train tracks, so the loud trains didn't bother us. It's situated right by the harbor, which is charming, and right downtown, which makes eating and shopping very convenient. The rooms were clean, and large. We didn't think the eggs served at breakfast were "real," so we stuck with cereal and yogurt.

Our WIFI connection was terrible, and they tried to fix it, but they didn't. Because we were staying a week, we asked for a change of rooms or a break on the price, but no other rooms like ours were available, and we received no response from the manager about a cut in price. If we had received a break on the cost, I wouldn't be writing this review.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at our hotel; your comments are appreciated. I apologize that the internet access was of concern. We have recently upgraded our entire internet system and I am sorry if during the upgrade your connection was affected. However, if you would please contact me at your earliest convenience, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had 3 days of shopping and eating, and the boatride. All were exceptional, and we enjoyed our 4 days. I would say, put on your walking shoes, and never get in the car, as everything is available in walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for adjoining rooms if you are all together.......
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews