We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveler rating
1,091
445
97
27
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
445
97
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric districtgreat locationtrain trackswithin walking distanceamelia islandshops and restaurantsthe breakfast areahotel is locatedking suitelight sleeperdowntown areacomplimentary breakfastvery nice hotelgreat place to stayfront desk staffshort drivecookies
Filter
Updating list...
1,418 - 1,423 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had 3 days of shopping and eating, and the boatride. All were exceptional, and we enjoyed our 4 days. I would say, put on your walking shoes, and never get in the car, as everything is available in walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for adjoining rooms if you are all together.......
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Feb 2013, and while it's not the Ritz it was certainly very nice and very affordable. The building itself seems awkward and clumsy; it may be an older building that has been renovated into the Hampton Chain; or maybe it's just on an odd-shaped lot that required some architectural gymnastics. But other than the somewhat dog-eared enterior, it is a fine location and I would stay again. #1 important point -- Fernandina Beach is a terrific little town, with lots of shops and restaurants, and this hotel is right in the center of the action. #2 - its right on the harbor, with ships and trains and lots to watch as the day goes on. The lobby is clean and handsome (see photos) with a very unusual ceiling that catches the eye. The rooms are generous and the baths are clean and modern. The staff was helpful. The breakfast room (on the second flooor) was big and the food sufficient to get you started on your day. All in all, for just over $100 a night, a very good deal and we were pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. You are correct about the Architectural Gymnastics! I am happy you enjoyed the town and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Somehow I didn't read past reviews close enough to understand that the hotel is immediately adjacent to a busy train line. We asked for a view room which I don't recommend. The view of the harbor is nothing great, plus the rooms face the train tracks that are literally just a few feet away. The trains blow there horns when they come by, plus there is a lot of switching going on. However, it seemed pretty quiet from about 11pm when the last train came by, until 6:30 AM when several more came through in quick succession. I think a room towards the back side would be much better.

Other than this we were OK with the room, actually a suite. The breakfast room is quite lovely and the food is fair. The hotel is located in a spendy little tourist neighborhood which some may enjoy. We did find a fantastic hole in the wall seafood place over the bridge which we loved - Shuckers. We also enjoyed our visit to Ft. Clinch State Park very much.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the train tracks.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the train noise. We are working with the city of Fernandina on ways to limit the train noise on our guests. Your comments will be shared with the City in order to improve our guest experience. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Island. It is a beautiful place and we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Kind regards,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Hotel is walking distance to the downtown district and many places to eat. Our only complaint was at night you could hear the band playing at a bar about a block away. Our room faced the bar which may have been part of the problem. The breakfast bar was typical Hampton fair. The staff were all helpful. Will stay next time we come to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the dowtown district. You may get some of the noise from the bands downtown at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel located in a beautiful location, down town Amelia Island with plenty to do within walking distance. But, employees mis informed, no gym, no consistent internet capability. Poor stay and after this happening twice in one year, this is one place I will boycott going forward. Shame, because it could be exceptional but it has fallen by the wayside and I have serious doubts that it will ever rebound and be a true Hilton property again.

Room Tip: Go to another facility. You will not have internet here nor will you have a gym and God forbid if you have to call the front desk staff just coming on to do their shift, they just are clueless on policy and have zero follow up when someone is unhappy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me regarding the problems you encountered with your stay. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and we have used your comments to further train our staff in excellent guest service standards. We have finished the renovation on our exercise facility and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the service and facilities that you can enjoy.

Sincerely,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews