We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Value”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for 3 nights mid-August. They had a special during the week to stay for 3 nights and get one free. As a lot of reviewers have stated this is a lovely hotel located within the historic district. This is a great location for walking to restaurants, shops, marina, tours, etc.

I booked a 2 bed suite and requested a balcony. Although I was told there were only about 5 rooms with balconies, I did receive one. It overlooked a street with a couple restaurants and was actually quiet. The room (actually 2 rooms) were very spacious with the kitchenette, couch, chairs, a bar to eat at and then the other room contained the beds and bath. There were two flat screen televisions. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The pool looked nice as did the fitness facility. Breakfast each morning was very good. There was a variety each day along with two strengths of coffee regular and bold. Coffee drinkers will appreciate this. The breakfast room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and spacious. The ladies attending to it kept it clean and stocked. They were pleasant.

The overall appearance of this hotel is very charming. It has a very southern feel, especially the lobby so because of this and the location, cleanliness, comfort and inclusive breakfast, this hotel is an excellent choice and value.

There is only one negative that comes to mind regarding my stay. The lobby while charming was a little small. So, every time I would enter or leave (many times during the day), the front desk personnel never greeted or acknowledged me. Sometimes, if they would look up, they would immediately put their head back down. I'm hesitant to mention this, because whenever I had a question or needed asssistance, I did receive it but the lack of a smile or greeting when entering or leaving was very noticeable.

Tip: if you get a powerade or vitamin water from the small shop beside the front desk, it will cost you $4.00. If you get it from the vending machines on each floor, the cost is $2.00.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel and definitely a great value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    375
    76
    20
    13
See reviews for
314
690
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I seldom write a review of Hilton properties since they consistently deliver a superior product. This Hampton does that - but way beyond what we expected. When I entered our room I was surprised to find a sitting room with full sized refrigerator, chair, couch, HDTV, and real working gas fireplace! Passing through we found the bedroom with normal furnishings plus a ceiling fan. The pool is huge on the second floor outside the breakfast area. This area is reached from the lobby by a grand staircase (or elevator). Hampton Inn - it was much more like the Ritz but at Hampton price!
By the way - the hotel faces the marina and is just steps from there or the main shopping area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I liked staying at the Hampton inn, despite the large number of weddings that the hotel was hosting. Not that mattered, it was a comfortable night's stay in one of their suites and their location within the quaint downtown area is also very helpful. Walking around at night is also not an issue as there are several pubs that stay open late. Noise was not an issue despite the wedding guests. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkWoodmanGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located near the marina right in the middle of the downtown area. Walk to restaurants and shopping. The beach is a bit of a drive, but I prefer the off-beach location for the night-time activities.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is near the marina, ask for a marina view. Don't know if they have such, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icestorm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn several times. It is a charming hotel - not your typical Hampton Inn in Historic Fernandina Beach. There is plenty to do in the area from boutique shopping to four-star dining. The rooms in the hotel are clean and roomy. The front desk staff is always helpful. If you are a light sleeper, I recommend a room that doesn't face the train tracks as the train gets loud very early in morning. The only small drawback is the lack of parking. I have had to park accross the street in the overflow parking area, which can get pretty messy on rainy days. Nevertheless, I recommend this hotel for a vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank act1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for almost a week to attend a conference at the Ritz Carlton Resort. We saved a ton of money by not staying there and had more fun as well. As they say, pictures don't do it justice. Beautiful building in historic location with views of the marina. Walking distance to unique shops and a wide variety of restaurants, varying from Mexican to Bistros to Italian to Low Country to Deli to Steak & Seafood extraordinaire. You can even hear the train whistle that delights you on occasion as it enters the historic downtown. Even the lobby has a unique, historic charm. The staff are all helpful and friendly. The breakfast they serve has belgium waffles, scrambled eggs, omelets, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and much more, in a nicely decorated room overlooking the pool and marina. Rooms are large and very quiet, with comfortable beds and pillows. Can't go wrong with this choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongballBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach Bottom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Really nice hotel with friendly staff. Continental breakfast was AMAZING! We parked and walked everywhere. Rented bikes and rode 10 minutes to the beach. We walked through the shops in town (1 block) and walked to restaurants as well. Clean rooms, nice pool and great location. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribCaroler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
1,369 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing