We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location is everything !”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located right downtown convenient to everything. We were able to go back to the room and freshen up before we headed back out. It's just a short drive to the beach. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Will go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara30277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    383
    81
    20
    13
See reviews for
326
713
44
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton inn for 5 nights on our first trip to Amelia Island which was our first vacation in years. What a wonderful stay and we can't wait to come back. See below for a few comments.

Pros:

- Location location location: None better this appears to be the only chain hotel in historic downtown fernandina Beach. The other hotels of this type are out on Sadler road which is nice for the beach but requires a short drive to downtown. This place is steps from the wonderful restaurants and stores the town has to offer, we only moved the car to go to the beach (you could bike it if you really wanted to, its between 2-3 miles).

- Larger suite style rooms available: Our room had a king bed in a separate bedroom and a separate living room with a kitchen area. The kitchen has a full size fridge (great for left overs), a basic set of dishes, a dishwasher and a garbage disposal.

- Breakfast included as usual: Breakfast area is on second floor away from lobby which is actually nice, keeps traffic down some. Coffee is available in the lobby around the clock which we love.

- Pool: small but nice pool is on the second level and comes with a nice view.

- House keeping: Efficient, friendly as anything and oh they were nice enough to run our dirty dishes through the wash everyday (I didn't leave them there for them to do btw :) ).

Cons:

- Walls are thin, some nights we could hear our neighbors TV's in the next room, and kids running down the halls. It was generally tolerable however as most times the noise quieted down by 11:30 pm the latest.

- Crowded breakfast: This is not a knock against the hotel but the breakfast area was packed some mornings and some guest do not watch their kids getting food so the area gets backed up really fast. Most mornings we ended up taking food back to our room or going our to the local coffee shop instead.

- Worn: It seems the carpets and some public areas of the hotel are worn out and looking bad, its not really a con but more so a comment that it would really be nice to see this addressed to breath a little more life into the hotel.

Final note: Stay here you won't regret it. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is very unusual for a Hampton inn in a good way it just has wonderful character. Oh and ask the front desk staff for food suggestions or any other help they directed us very well.

Room Tip: - spend a bit more and get a room with a kitchen as the added space is good for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enstormblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had a three day stay at this hotel with my family. Its located in the historical part of the city with small city feel to it and has wonderful stores around it. It was great to take a mid day or night time stroll through the night. The hotel itself was very well kept. Their breakfast area decor was pleasant and had a very summer(y) feel to it. Having a breakfast in a place like that, over looking the pool and then the bay was very calming.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The only think I did not like was their bathroom which was slightly dated but it was in perfect running condition. Since the stay and the service was good, that can easily be overlooked. When I accidentally booked this hotel as oppose to the one at the beach, but then realized that this was by far the most relaxing one, esp if you are the type who like to just love the feel of the small peaceful towns.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAZ31018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Amelia Island. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff at the front desk. We stayed in a king suite that was extremely clean and had a kitchen and living room area. The bed was super comfortable and we enjoyed having a balcony in our room as well. The location of this hotel is definitely a huge plus! We were able to walk almost everywhere we went! The only time we drove was to visit the beach and Fort Clinch Park. Overall we had a great experience at this hotel and definitely recommend it to others when planning to visit Amelia Island,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn at Amelia Island many times. We return because of the friendly stay, great location, wonderful breakfast, and very clean place to stay. Everything about this hotel I would rate five.

Room Tip: Very quiet and great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here for four nights while my husband and I were in town for a wedding.
The hotel is in the middle of Historic Fernandina and walking distance to many delicious restaurants and shops. There is a train that rides very close to the hotel but it didn't really bother me.
The first room we stayed in was clean but seemed to have a issue has it smelled a bit like mold and was very damp. I spoke to the front desk and they put us in a new room (upgraded to a suite free of charge) which was much better.
The pool is lovely and I used it every day. You cannot walk to a beach from this hotel but it's a quick drive. Free breakfast at any Hampton Inn is a great way to go and the dininig facilities were clean and spacious.
I would recommeded this hotel to couples, families and business people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Property is right downtown, walk to everything; plenty of restaurants and sight seeing. They make you aware that the property is adjacent to a train track and yes, the train does go through. So, train went through 2x while we were there and if I did not see it, I would have never know it was there. Go, enjoy and don't worry about the train...

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms on the north side has a great view of the bay, less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankied92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
391 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing