We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn at Amelia Island many times. We return because of the friendly stay, great location, wonderful breakfast, and very clean place to stay. Everything about this hotel I would rate five.

Room Tip: Very quiet and great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    388
    82
    21
    13
See reviews for
332
725
46
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here for four nights while my husband and I were in town for a wedding.
The hotel is in the middle of Historic Fernandina and walking distance to many delicious restaurants and shops. There is a train that rides very close to the hotel but it didn't really bother me.
The first room we stayed in was clean but seemed to have a issue has it smelled a bit like mold and was very damp. I spoke to the front desk and they put us in a new room (upgraded to a suite free of charge) which was much better.
The pool is lovely and I used it every day. You cannot walk to a beach from this hotel but it's a quick drive. Free breakfast at any Hampton Inn is a great way to go and the dininig facilities were clean and spacious.
I would recommeded this hotel to couples, families and business people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Property is right downtown, walk to everything; plenty of restaurants and sight seeing. They make you aware that the property is adjacent to a train track and yes, the train does go through. So, train went through 2x while we were there and if I did not see it, I would have never know it was there. Go, enjoy and don't worry about the train...

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms on the north side has a great view of the bay, less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankied92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've stayed at numerous Hampton Inns along my way to some final destination. I've never seen one as nice as this. The entire staff were efficient, helpful, and friendly. Upon check-in, Keebra at at the front desk upgraded us from a standard king room to one with a whirlpool. We had no interest in the tub, but it was a very nice gesture nonetheless. The room was nicely appointed with a gas log fireplace, spacious bathroom with a tiled stand-up shower. Yes, tiled. Not resin cast. It was a nice touch and felt so much cleaner than the typical hotel tub with a mold spore laden shower curtain The whirlpool tub, comfortably large enough for two, is adjacent to the bed. The room was clean and the linens were fresh. The overall condition of the property is very good.

Location! Location! Location! The hotel's location at the foot of Centre Street is the ideal home base. Dozens of antique and gift shops, restaurants and sweet shops are a short stroll from the hotel.

The hotel was a good value at $131 for the night on July 8, 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I loved this hotel, great location, very convenient, loved the pool and the breakfast was great every morning. However, the reason they got 2 stars from me is that I was trying to coordinate something with the hotel for our anniversary before I went, sent 2 emails, and never heard back from anyone. So I did something else which was fine, but the fact that they didn't even get back to me led to me to believe once your room is booked then they don't care too much about their guests.

Room Tip: There is a train that comes twice a day on the harbor side of the hotel, I never heard it but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diesel222_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Revenue Management at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for having chosen our Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island; we appreciate your business. We are very dissappointed to not have been able to plan your special occasion with you and/or for you. As you can see from our TripAdvisor reviews, we excel at creating memories for our guests. To ensure our lines of communication are working appropriately, please contact our General Manager at 904-491-4911 or via e-mail at bob.ramshaw@hilton.com so we can research which e-mail you used and where it went. We hope to hear from you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We just came back from staying at this hotel for 5 days and it was wonderful! Parked the car and could walk right outside to the Historical District and all the shops and eateries! Super location and the room with a King size bed and the suite, you could not ask for more. Free breakfast is your typical, hot and cold cereal, fruit, yogurt and waffles, plus a different egg dish daily.
Jennifer at the front desk was just awesome, kind and so helpful!
The only drawback is you need to drive to the beach, which just a couple of miles, with free parking there also. Hopefully someday to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family enjoys quick getaways to the beach, and we have spent our honest hard earned money on lesser hotels before..... this hotel gives you a feelling of satisfaction from the moment you check in, until the moment that you check out, and even on your ride home. Amazing staff throughout the entire hotel, everything that we needed was taken care of quickly and efficiently. This hotel provides military discounts, a pool, a business office with internet, printer, etc, a continental breakfast that sets the standard for all other hotels, friendly staff, super clean facility, room key card access to mostly all exterior & interior doors, 24 hour surveillance throughout the facility, and so much more. Now there is a train that comes through occasionally, but its tolerable, and the kids liked it, LOL.
This place is a must stay for anyone who wants an awesome getaway to Amelia Island. Just a few minute drive to the beach, an amazing historical downtown area, shopping & restaurants within walking distance, and a very nice clean environment for the family to sleep, eat, and enjoy their vacation in. Thank you Hampton Inn staff .... your Amelia Island location in the historic downtown district has exceeded our expecations, and has set a standard for all other Hampton Inn hotels to learn from.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the harbor, while others do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GA-Wolfpack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
642 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,412 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
395 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing