We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Hampton Inn and Suites in historic Fernandina, Amelia Island is an attractive, comfortable hotel in a great location. The hotel is conveniently in the heart of the historic area on 2nd Street between Center and Ash. Front Street and the bay are at the far end of the hotel.

Train tracks do run between Front Street and the bay, but our view of the bay was worth the possible noise of trains. Sunset on the bay was very pretty. We actually heard the train late (before bedtime) once on our first night. The second night, a train rolled through about 10:15 P.M. and another one around 5:20 A.M. We were glad that nothing disturbed our sleep during the middle of the night.

The hotel staff is exceptional. Everyone we encountered (check in, breakfast, cleaning, and maintenance) was cheerful and seemed happy to be working there. I needed to send a fax while there, and the front desk staff cheerfully and efficiently accommodated me.

The attractive breakfast area is large, and every space was well used for the breakfast buffet and guests seating. The options were plentiful and good. The only thing we didn’t like was the chairs which seemed a little large and cumbersome for the tables and space.

The business center is comfortable and secure – entry is only allowed with a room key card. Both PCs have good connectivity, monitors have great resolution, and each PC has a dedicated printer. I especially liked the fact that both computers are set up so that temporary files are deleted as each guest logs off.

The fitness center has several different pieces of equipment. The treadmill works well. The room has glass walls on 2 sides making the space feel large and open.

Our king room was very attractive and clean as was the bathroom. The below window heat/cooling unit was efficient. The microwave and refrigerator were useful. The bed was very comfortable.

The Hampton Inn and Suites is a great place to stay. I definitely want to return to Amelia Island and to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great spot on marina!
Best spot on island for proximity to shops, restaurants, festival.
Free breakfast with lots of choices for the health food eater.
Pool is always clean and rarely crowded.
Safe neighborhood.
This is not the first time I have stayed here and would definitely stay again. The only drawback is the train that goes through very noisely every night!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeaniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is not your typical Hampton Inn box hotel. The building is unique with a neat pool area overlooking the marina and a handsome breakfast area overlooking the pool. The manager called me by name at the desk the next morning, and every single chambermaid spoke english and was eye-contact friendly. I was most impressed!

The parking is not bad; it's all around the horseshoe shaped hotel. There are wonderful restaurants within steps of the property and main street type shops too.

There is a rail yard next door, and a train interrupted my afternoon nap with its whistle, but it did not run at night. It would have helped if I could have put the room wall unit on fan mode for white noise, but in fan mode I couldn't set the temperature and I needed the cooling.

The suite was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the wireless internet worked. Thanks to the staff, this is my new favorite Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were visiting Amelia Island for the Concours d'Elegance,during the weekend of the concours we stayed at another property. We traveled to Savannah for a few days and returned to Amelia for the last two days of our trip, staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites. If you want to stay in the historic area of Amelia Island this is the place. The rooms however could use an upgrade, the bathrooms were old and our shower tile had seen better days. Staff was generally friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Breakfast staff were very nice and enjoyed their jobs! Truly refreshing. This Hampton is within walking distance of all restaurants and boat tours, carriage rides! A super location! We have been staying at Hamptons for years and this one was a bit disappointing due to need of room upgrades. Otherwise a nice visit to beautiful Amelia Island!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosieeb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and would recommend it highly.
During Thanksgiving in 2010 we stayed for 4 days and Cindy and all of the other employees were outstanding! The rooms were clean and all other accomidations were every good. BTW, the location is just what we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSnellville-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is very nice, functional, rooms are a decent size, furntiture is very basic and decoration is also very basic, but all works and is in good order.
Staff is extremely friendly and quick to help.
Common areas such as lobby and breakfast area are very nice, and cozy, much nicer than a regular hampton inn
The layout of the hotel is odd, but after a while you get used to it.
I had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, dishwasher, fridge
Bathroom sink is in the bedrooom, outside room that has shower and toilet, so can be noisy for others sleeping in room.
My biggest disappointment, was the view from room, a parking lot, not so nice marina, shipping cranes and a smoke stack of a huge powerplant. Just adjacent from hotel there are railroad tracks and freight trains passing by, but I did not hear them, so I guess the hotel has good sound proofing. Of course this is not the hotel's fault, but on the flip side, the hotel is adjacent to the restaurant and shop area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at this property for four days. Our initial impression was most excellent, as the staff were all friendly and helpful. And that impression continued. The housekeeping staff was most diligent and our room was done by noon every day of our stay. The only complaint I had about housekeeping was that they did not provide a "make-up remover" towel in our room every day. But this is a very small complaint when all else was perfectly done - lots of towels, always a favorite with me. Jimmy Cooper (Director of Sales & Marketing) actually stopped us in the hall to invite us to the happy hour he hosts from 5 - 8 from Mon - Thurs. He was very welcoming and friendly. Hampton corporate should hire him to train all their personnel in guest services. He made every person feel welcome and appreciated. This is pretty rare in today's world. The happy hour was a very nice perk from the hotel (there is a minor charge for the beer and wine, with appetizers being offered for free). There were a great many conferences being held during our stay in the facilities of the hotel. We did use the business center a couple of times without any wait.

The location of this hotel is great, as it is just next door to the Visitors Center and a block from restaurants and shopping. Downtown Fernandina Beach has an abundance of excellent restaurants. Hampton Inn is just across the street from the harbor itself (and we enjoyed the company of the most excellent bar staff at Brett's Waterway Cafe (my review to be posted) right on the harbor.

As others have mentioned, the train tracks are next to the hotel and I was awakened during the night and at 6 a.m. on one night of our stay. I heard nothing after that. But if you are a light sleeper, you might wish to know this. Some have mentioned the parking and on the weekends, it does get a little crowded, but we had no issues with the parking whatsoever (but, of course, it is October). The hotel is right downtown so the location overrides any parking situation as far as we are concerned. The staff and the location MAKE THIS HOTEL! The breakfast is the typical Hampton breakfast and you can make your own waffles, which are really delicious. The breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful - in fact, I must say that the staff at this hotel is THE BEST we have encountered in all the years we have stayed at Hamptons (since they began).

We loved being able to walk out the door and shop or have a fabulous meal. It was extremely easy to drive to the beach from this hotel. If you are a beach person, you might prefer the Hampton Inn located nearer to the beach. We spent two mornings on the beach without any problems driving there quickly (although I imagine in summer, this is more difficult, as parking is limited).

Getting around the island was very easy and it was just a few miles to Fort Clinch (definitely worth a visit and the beach there is beautiful). When our stay was over, we were really pleased that we had chosen the Hampton Inn and Suites downtown at the Harbor - GLORIOUS SUNSETS and beautiful people - a lovely memory.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninjaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,445 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
899 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
408 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $137 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing