We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Motel(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$105
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia Hotel at the Beach(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort(Fernandina Beach)
$381
$266
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,518)
Filter reviews
2,518 results
Traveler rating
1,629
537
217
91
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
537
217
91
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelthe ritz carltonsalt restaurantspa poolcoastal view roomamelia islandsports barlobby loungeturn down servicegolf coursepool staffbeautiful propertyocean frontfitness centerbusiness conferencejacksonville airportan umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
2,322 - 2,327 of 2,518 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2007

A lovely resort with expected amenities for a Ritz Carlton. Staff was plentiful and attentive and meals were fantastic. A quiet area, providing the relaxing get away we were looking for.
The only negative comment is that it's time for room carpeting and furnishings to be updated. All was clean and in good repair, but upholstered furniture is faded and showing wear.
Would stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrlandoResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

I've never found any reason to have a complaint at any stay at Ritz properties. (Darn, and I like to complain.) This one's no exception. Stayed for a football game in Jacksonville - a little far - but it was worth it. The beach location is excellent. This location rivals the Sanctuary at Kiawah. Both are "south east coast" favorites. Only one drawback with the general area: the smell of the paper factories from time to time.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CirruslyAloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for two nights - December 23 and 24th w/ my husband. We stayed at this hotel last year at the same time. We booked a Deluxe Coastal View Room & it was on the 7th floor w/ a view of the pool and ocean. It was a nice room.

Starting w/ the good - the staff that you come into contact day to day were VERY nice and seemed to love their job. The breakfast was wonderful as always at Cafe 4750. The staff there were extremely nice.Now, that being said - we left the room the first morning until noon and housekeeping never showed until 12:15 after we had returned. I was in the shower so I was not able to answer the door.
I decided to call @ 3p for turn down service @ 5:30 as we were going out to dinner. We got back at 7p and the room was just as we left it. At 7:30 housekeeping came, knocked on the door and I answered. She had two small bottles of water and two chocolates in her hands (she did the first night as well when they knocked at 9:15p) as if she had no intention of doing a turn down service at all. I asked for two washclothes and we just let it go.
The morning of checkout they knocked THREE TIMES before noon to service the room. Just don't understand their philosophy.
Other than that, the grounds are beautiful and we will return again but maybe not for a couple years.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommyofTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We had three nights here in mid December 2007. We had a great time!

Best things:
- Fantastic beds and linens
- Right on the sea front
- Amazing flowers throughout the hotel and grounds
- Excellent staff, so responsive
- A lot of extra bits in the room (shoe polish, soaps, shaving kit)
- Food was always very good, even room service food!

Things to work on:
- The hotel is struggling with a mildew smell, expected to some degree with being at the seaside, but bedding and towels did have that mildewy smell
- The hotel is trying to maintain an old world style with large portraits and dark wood, this seems to fit awkwardly with a beach resort!
- Poor coffee bean quality

Overall, we had an excellent time. This is a Ritz Carlton in terms of service and location, but there is a bizarre attempt to mix old world grand father clocks and dark woods with a beach resort which just did not seem to quite fit!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We just stayed at the Amelia Island Ritz Carlton over the Thanksgiving holiday. Our stay was wonderful. The valets were quick to take care of our luggage and check in was a breeze. The hotel lobby is very nice. There were many great activities planned for the kids and the parents during the time we were there. The room was beautiful with a great view. Beds were extremely comfortable for a hotel. I would say one of the best I ever experienced. The pools were very nice except the children's pool was not heated and was ice cold.

My only reservation about this hotel was the choices in dining. The food in all the restaurants was excellent but they do not have a quick inexpensive place to pick up a quick meal. For this you must get in your car and go into town. The meals in the restaurants are excellent but quite pricey. I was impressed that Salt had a children's menu but the prices for them start at $20.00. I did not get a room at the Club Level because it was $180 more per day. The Club Level has a wonderful buffet all day and you can eat there as many times as you like. I opted not to do this thinking I would not spend $180 per day in meals. Boy, was I wrong. Next time I will definitely book a Club Level room. It is well worth the money.

Our only negative experience was with housekeeping. During the days we stayed there, our room was not serviced until after 4:00 p.m. Yet the day we were checking out, even though we had the "Do not Disturb" sign on the door, they started knocking on our door at 10:25 a.m. asking when we were checking out. Then another housekeeper came and asked to come in and look around to see how much they had to do. We were already packed and had no problem with their visits but this treatment on check out day was a bit surprising and rude. We later asked the person who took our luggage to the car if we had violated the check-out policy and if check-out was perhaps at 10 a.m. He said that was totally uncalled for and that check out was not until noon. It was a great weekend but we left with the feeling you get on a cruise ship when they get to the home port and they want you off the ship by 9:00 a.m. to get ready for the next batch of visitors.

It was still a great place to visit and they do a wonderful job of making it feel like a family resort. Kids are made to feel welcome and the activities for the kids are all wonderful. All staff members (with the exception of housekeeping) were also wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews