We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-End getaway”

Florida House Inn and Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Week-End getaway”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was good food and you could sit or outside,
right on the beach, Thie is were in the Civil Was and the center . We liked everything

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank phyllism38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    10
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The porch atmosphere was nice. The waitress was good. They served large portions. The food left a lot to be desired. The chicken was overlooked, the sweet potato fries tasted like they were cooked in old oil, the marconi-cheese was cold and the butter beans appeared to be Lima beans. I would not go back for what was an average meal at best. Too many other god places to eat in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zfreebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach Bottom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went to a organized brunch for wedding guests and had a FABULOUS meal! The place was really decorated nice--especially the bar area. Brunch included a wonderful quiche, salad, rolls, fruit and Southern Ice Tea...wonderful! When we're back in town we look forward to eating there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribCaroler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Lunch in Fernandina”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Four of us had lunch in the spacious front dining room. The menu is typically Southern with Fried Chicken, Fried Shrimp, Salads, and plenty of sides. We had the Chicken, Shrimp and a salad with shrimp. Lots of craft bears, good wine and everything so reasonable. Most entree's were $10-$12 which is a fantastic value. The food was wonderful and portions big. The wait staff had big smiles and we felt very much at home in the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

We have eaten at most restaurants in Fernandina and are happy to report that the new owners have hit it out of the park by bringing this historic Inn back to the forefront of great places in the lovely town of Fernandina.

Breakfast is only for Inn guests and they don't serve dinner. They stay booked with lots of weddings and special events. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Florida House Inn and will definitely go back. Oh, one more thing in case you were wondering: the skillet fried chicken was outstanding:-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch here”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here because Kelley's was swamped. Luckily I did not read the reviews first. Lunch was delicious. I had fried chicken and creamed corn. The creamed corn was obviously home made,and outstanding. My wife had fried shrimp (YUMMY) and sauteed squash. We finished with home made peach cobbler, very delicious.

Helpful?
3 Thank blintze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida House Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Amelia Island, FL
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Amelia Island, FL
 

Been to Florida House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing