We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early!! Pastries, breads and muffins to die for!”
Review of Chez Lezan Bakery

Chez Lezan Bakery
Restaurant details
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get there early!! Pastries, breads and muffins to die for!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Can't say how yummy! We discovered this gem three years ago on spring break. Added benefit is park and historical tourist downtown! Don't miss this bakery! The owners do an amazing wedding cake too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junruh396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't Oversleep ... Best Bites Go Fast”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pure indulgence with powdered sugar on top - these are the best muffins on the island. The key: go early (before 900am) for best selection. What makes this better than the other downtown bakery is the water filter they use for Fernandina's tap, which can affect the outcome of some baked goods. It's a must-visit every time we go, even if it's on the way out of town departure morning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having just had one of Dottie's inspired bagels, I am continually reminded that every item produced by this genius baker is the best anywhere. Her pecan rolls, offered on Wednesday and Sunday, are to die for, and pastries and bread, muffins, etc., are all wonderful. Highly worth a detour and splurge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckc34341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, handcrafted breads and pastries.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I discovered Chez Lezan when we moved to Fernandina about two years ago. Since then it has become a twice a week breakfast stop. In addition to her amazingly delicious muffins, croissants, and puff pastries, Chez also has consistently perfect brewed coffee and artisan breads. My personal favorite being the kalamata olive loaf. Pour some fresh olive oil over Italian spices and dip bread-who needs dinner?
Chez is located on the corner of Atlantic and11th in a small shopping plaza on the corner. It is a small bakery with only one cafe table inside and out but a true bread conasaurs will instantly know what a master baker Dottie is when they eat anything from Chez. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateJacyszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome bakery”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our family has been using Chez Lezan for over a year; both as a place to order delicious pastries and to order specialty cakes for family birthdays. Each cake is truly a work of art and better than any cake we have gotten from big city bakeries. This Christmas was decided to order an Yule Log. We were amazed by the level of artistry that went into the design. Needless to say it also tasted wonderful!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lezan Bakery also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Chez Lezan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing