We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too loud inside”

Pepper's Mexican Grill and Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too loud inside”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The indoor seating at Peppers is loud and hectic. They were super busy and slightly slow. We didn't complain but the server gave me a free beer for the wait. Score!
I had beef carnitas and they were delish

Helpful?
Thank Momvet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    253
    118
    44
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What's 'Holy Cow that's Good' in Spanish?”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

First, we all agreed the salsa was one of the best we ever had. Lucky for us it was Margarita night and their bartender makes a delicious drink. We had chimichangas, burritos, tacos, and enchiladas.... Everyone loved their meal. Great outdoor seating. The staff was so friendly and attentive. After our meal, we walked around the charming downtown and stopped in Fantastic Fudge to get some fudge for dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, NC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absofreakinglutely LOVED this Place!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

OK, this was my favorite place to eat on Amelia Island. Granted if you go on a Friday or Saturday night, you will have a wait for a table. SO WHAT! It is worth it! I am picky about my Mexican food, but this fit the bill. We ate here twice on our visit. I was very pleased both times. Not only is the food good, but the atmosphere is great and the servers are very polite and friendly. The value is also there. This is one of the less expensive places to eat. A lunch for 2 was under $20 and a Dinner for 3 was under $40. I will definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SterlingLinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at Pepper's and the food was OK, not special but not bad either, just average tasting and gringo in flavor. The service was efficient and professional but not so welcoming - just sort of get it done. Again, average and pre-functionary. Worth a second try . . . Perhaps it was an out-of-sync day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very affordable, decent cuisine with authentic Mexican atmosphere”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Peppers, although a local chain restaurant, gives a real sense of Mexican style and flavor. Servers are Mexican, speak Spanish, fun, family friendly atmosphere, and very affordable, good food! Restaurant has a big, beautiful, full bar, too. Peppers has a nice outdoor eating area as well. We went on a weeknight and were seated right away. It was a nice surprise to find such a good, affordable eatery in a resort town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elleffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper's Mexican Grill and Cantina also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Pepper's Mexican Grill and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing