We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teeny, Tiny but Oh So Good!”

LuLu's at The Thompson House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: New owners/chef as of Summer 2010. Chef, Brian Grimley. Fantastic food, intimate location, menu changes weekly.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Teeny, Tiny but Oh So Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stopped by here after a Google search looking for the "best fish chowder in Amelia Island". It's a teeny, tiny place with only 7 tables inside (there's outside seating but it was a cold day). The fish chowder was wonderful -- a very light coconut cream with a broth seasoned to perfection -- and lots of seafood inside... Hubby and I also shared a Nicoise Salad with Grilled Salmon. Again, it was wonderful with lots of different greens, along with pickled beets, a scoop of homemade potato salad, olives, etc. Very well done. Service was very good and the place was packed with locals -- with others waiting outside for a table. Very pleased with this little place situated in an old Victorian style home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    160
    46
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Six of us met for dinner at Lulu's and we were offered the specials menu (and one copy of the regular menu!) our food arrived promptly with appetizers of chowder and calamari, both delicious! The disappointment was in the mains ordered by several of us which were flounder and fried green tomatoes, disappointing because everything was over breaded and fried, so the taste and texture was of fried breeding. Another person ordered shrimp and grits, again disappointing, both grits and accompanying sauce. Another person had the clam linguine. The linguine wasn't edible, a shame as the clams were fine. A suggestion might be to let the seafood speak simply without overdoing the other elements

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2012minimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The food was great but the service was horrible.
We were supposed to be 6 people but were only 5. I had tried calling to let them know we were going to be 5 people but the phone went to voicemail and the voicemail box said it was full. This should have been must first clue that they may have issues with service. Thank goodness we were 5 people because they had 6 chairs squeezed around a small table that was meant for 5 - lucky us that we were now 5
Our waitress was rude, incompetent and rarely around. Right from the start she seemed annoyed. She gave us each the daily menu but only gave us 1 regular menu to share. We were outside and it was getting cold so we asked if she could turn on the heater next to our table, she seemed annoyed and had someone come over to light it (it should have been on when we were seated) We ordered white wine and after pouring it in 3 of our glasses, she disappeared with it only saying she would refill them when we needed it. Our glasses went empty and she was no where to be found. After we ate our appetizers, she did not clear the plates that we had piled up for her but just served our entrees. When a few of us asked for new forks, she looked to the pile of appetizer plates that had a few utensils and suggested we could use them...are you kidding?. Reluctantly she brought over new utensils and I handed her the appetizer plates that were just piled up next to me. We all enjoyed our meals with a bottle of red wine that we had brought with us (for a corkage fee which was well worth it since at least it stayed on our table). After we finished dinner, she did not even offer us desert or coffee but she asked if we would like the check. Normally we are generous tippers but not so this time.
The sad part is that the food was spectacular but was somewhat overshadowed by the lousy service.
They have some nice new twists on foods - the calamari was delicious - with touches of jalapeno and a sweet sauce it was different and yummy. All the fish entrees were great and the pork chop was pretty good. As mentioned above, we cannot comment on desert since we were not offered any and we were too annoyed to have to request it. I really hope they get it figured out and that our waitress finds a job that she does not feel is so beneath her.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

From the moment we arrived, everyone was anxious to ensure you were being waited on. Small little place, off one of the site streets but a great find. Bean soup and crab cake was awesome, and extremely generous portions. Gourmet Mac & Cheese was a nice surprise, and fish special was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Owner came over to chat as we were leaving, giving us a little history of his little gem which added a very warm and friendly touch to the whole experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TampaAbuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“So many good choices, what do I have tonight?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is one of those small seating restaurants that makes a big impression. Only a few inside tables, some under an outside tent and the rest in a courtyard. The chef circulated throughout the dining room checking on tables the night we were there. The menu has lots of seafood and shellfish selections. It's hard to decide. Our house salad was fresh greens and lots of them. Very delicious. For the entree, we had the shrimp and grits because you sort of have to try that dish when you are in town. It was good, very good but nothing compared to the Krispy Kreme bread pudding for dessert. There were so many good choices, it makes this a place to return again and again. The outside seating would be wonderful on a nice evening. They also serve Sunday brunch. With few tables and great food, make a reservation if you want to eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenie2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LuLu's at The Thompson House also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to LuLu's at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing