We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House and Room”
Review of Hoyt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoyt House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful House and Room”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

01/27/2011
Our room was very nice, but tour the house, tremendous architecture and beautiful grounds.
The service was a nice surprise, very attentive,but not cloying. Myrta and Deborah were both casual and anxious to please. Little extras were every where. Good advice on a restaurant, Espana. Breakfast was a well prepared, well proportioned original. Have already recommended the Hoyt House to a friend and a coworker. And will stay again in the next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnvGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
370
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orlando, Fl.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We went there for a murder mystery weekend and had a great time. Everyone had a script and lines to read during a fantastic dinner prepared by the owners. We had fun guessing who the "killer" was and the winner received a prize. The new owners, Myrta and Debbie were great and took care of all our needs including costumes. The party, food and fellow travel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franco99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is beautiful! The innkeepers are wonderful hosts! The loacation is within walking distance to the historic district.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdeveault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband and i spent five nights, loved every minute and have recommended Hoyt House to friends who may be travelling down to A I . next year. We met several guests who were making repeat visits. Deborah worked around my vegetarian and dairy free diet and the breakfasts were elegant and delicious. Myrta was always there to answer a myriad of questions and was so accommodating and friendly.. the room was pretty and clean. the mattress- terrific. what else? oh-- as a tea addict i was happy to have access to hot tea constantly and my husband is a fan of the hot cocoa. the whirlpool in the back garden was a big favorite of mine. I had chosen the H house due to the availability of a pool too. it was a plus for us to be able to choose dvd movies from the library shelves on the first floor. made for a relaxing evening after much tourist sightseeing and running around like two people who have to see everything or feel like we have missed out. the history lectures at the local museum were topnotch. the ghost walk was fun and cumberland island was lovely. we took a few eco walking tours on amaelia island as well as a trolley ride which gave us an overview. enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doritalbanyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Selecting an inn from a website is always a gamble. Clever camera angles and cagy descriptions can be deceptive. The Hoyt House, however, far exceeds the pictures and descriptions from its website. The internet does not do justice to the beautiful front entrance with the canopy of spanish moss-draped trees and landscaped walkway leading to the covered wrap-around porch. The inside of the Inn was equally appealing.

The owners were even more inviting than the property. Deborah and Myrta hosted the evening wine and cheese hour as if we were old friends who had dropped by and the breakfasts were extraordinary.

The Hoyt House is on the busiest street of the historic district of Fernandina Beach, which some might consider a drawback but we found it to be an ideal location. (Busy is a relative term since this is a small town.) The house was just a few minutes' walk from the shopping area and was an easy bicycle ride to the state park and public beaches on the complimentary bicycles they provided. Our room was extremely clean, quiet, and well decorated. The pool and hot tub area were quiet, private, and relaxing.

We travel frequently, both in the United States and abroad and have stayed in a variety of places, ranging from five star hotels to budget motels. Our favorite places are those that provide top end amenities with a relaxed and casual atmosphere. That describes the Hoyt House perfectly. We highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewrights01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My grown daughter were traveling back home to Florida from a conference in SC. We stopped over night in Amelia Island and by chance checked into The Hoyt House. Our experience was delightful. The B and B recently purchased by Deborah and Marita was spotlessly clean and astetically inviting. The hospitality and generosity of the Inn Keepers is exceptional. Deborah cooked a heavenly breakfast with the freshest and finest ingredients. The coffee was made in an individual french press for each guest. I had seconds. The mattress was comfortablre and the bath amenities delicious. My daughter and I drove home looking forward to returnning to the Hoyt House and we are sure we made two wonderful new friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaaLisaaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoythouse_innkeeper, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your kinds words. We hope to see you both for Thanksgiving and get a chance to catch up. Our conversations were stimulating and mind bending. Would love to continue where we left off. I hope both of you are well and please do enjoy the moment as I know you will.

Stay Well,

Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2010

By far the best B&B we have ever stayed out. The innkeepers were so friendly and enjoyable to speak with, the rooms were immaculate and it was by far one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. We can not wait to go again and be able to spend some more time here. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
656 reviews
8.0 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt House Inn

Property: Hoyt House Inn
Address: 804 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyt House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Intimate, Luxurious Bed & Breakfast that will exceed your expectations with five star amenities, three course gourmet made to order choice breakfast, heated pool & spa for your relaxing pleasure. Enjoy complimentary bicycles to ride to the beach or tour the Historic District, complimentary off street parking, luxury robes and body wraps, and complimentary cocktail hour. Our English Pub Amelia Lounge is serving our special Hoytie Toytie Martini with Dragon Fruit Vodka. Come home to The Hoyt House where you will re-learn how to relax again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoyt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyt House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing