We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property but little hidden charges aren't cool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoyt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoyt House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Great property but little hidden charges aren't cool.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great property that we have stayed at before under different management. We still loved the property this time but felt "warmth" was very lacking from some details. We are used to an unlimited cocktail hour and here it was "one drink only" and then it was charged to your room. Would it be so difficult to spot us some beers for the amount we are paying? It just seemed petty. We are also used to warm cookies, a snifter of port left out, etc. and none of that was done here. No little extras that make you feel special and valued as guests. We were also charged for a bottle of water we requested for a bike ride. We weren't told it was extra and again it just seemed a bit petty. I think the current owners are trying but need to turn up the warmth factor to get return business. We want to feel like beloved friends in your home not worry about how little details may show up on our bill. Good but could be so much better. Let's hope they get there.

Room Tip: We love the Wells Suite, #1. It is on the end and feels intimate and quiet. It has a whirlpool tub...
See more room tips
Green Features: Say no evidence of recycling but they may do it. Lots of placards in room about using less water, towel reuse, etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner1-GM, Owner at Hoyt House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. While you loved the Wells King Suite we are sorry you felt we did not meet your expectations and see the value you were getting. We are very green and have a water cooler for guests to fill there water bottles that are complimentary in there room along with fresh baked cookies upon check-in. You can fill up and stay hydrated has much as you want for free. We encourage our guests to recycle there water bottles as you mentioned with our green promotion cards in the room. Our social hour is for our guests to come together an enjoy our full spirits, wine & beer a rare find in any B&B with a full liquor license. We offer one complimentary glass of beer or wine of your choice. We can be open to the public but choose not to so our guests have privacy and can enjoy an intimate experience. I don't know of any B&B, hotel or luxury resort that offers a full open bar for there social hour. We offer free Wi-Fi, free bicycles, free beach chairs & beach gear as well as two fishing polls, free parking, free HBO & Cinamax and a three course breakfast, warm scented lavender towels, everyone receives fresh baked warm sticky buns, then five appetizers to choose from plus 6 entrees including a Fritatta of the day, free french press coffee, plus free Kuerig coffee, one on each floor for your convenience and free snacks all day and night. There is no resort fee for our heated pool, & spa, chaise covers or towels, a fee you will see daily at any luxury resort. No paperwork to fill out if you take a towel. There was no additional charge for your early check-in request.

At The Hoyt House Inn we try not to be too intrusive with our guests time. It is your time to rest and relax and enjoy all that Amelia Island and the mansion has to offer. We appreciate your review and do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
362
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice place. We really enjoyed our stay we went biking to downtown came back just on time for a nice glass of wine . The room very comfortable nothing was missing very impressed by the maintenance of this B&B. We were nicely surprised by the delicious breakfast . Thank you again Myrta for my request of egg white omelet . A bientot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea-Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hoyt House B & B on Amelia Island was ideally located within easy walking distance to exquisite restaurants and quaint shops. The onsite pool and hot tub were an unexpected bonus allowing us to relax onsite or take an equally relaxing stroll to downtown shops.

The Inn keepers were wonderful providing every accommodation we might need including a three course gourmet breakfast, evening drinks and bikes and beach gear.

The Atlantic ocean is minutes away as are historic tours, sprawling beaches, and fishing charters. If you are looking to get a way and relax Debra and Myrta will do all in their power to ensure you do.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely. The master was perfect for us with a walk out sitting porch to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hoyt House is a beautiful B&B where our stay was especially extraordinary due to the efforts of the Innkeepers, Myrta and Deborah, tending to every detail to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Gourmet breakfast every day, advice on things to do, loaner bicycles & chairs for the beach, beautifully landscaped and maintained heated pool and hot tub, early evening bar where we shared stories with the Innkeepers and other guests. The room was not only comfortable and quiet but contained everything we needed for our stay. The extraordinary quality always topnotch during the week we were there.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with Myrta. She will give you the best guidance for which room to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbonyVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We chose the Hoyt House via their Internet site for our week's vacation on Amelia Island. We needed some R&R and warm sunshine after NJ's snow ridden winter. What we got was an Inn that exceeded our every fantasy expectations! Inn is beautiful, pool and hot tub relaxing, breakfast is gourmet professional and the Inn Keepers, Myrta and Deborah gave us just the right amount of privacy and yet, just the right amount of warm and friendly conversation. Don't go without spending quality time chilling out on the front porch. Perfect in my opinion..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this B & B on our trip back home from Florida's Gulf Coast. Myrta and Deborah put together a delicious gourmet breakfast. Their home has a beautiful garden with a well maintained pool and hot tub. It is located in the downtown area with easy access to top local cuisine. They also provided bikes for an easy ride to the beach. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Everything about Hoyt House is top notch. The extra effort the innkeepers go to make your stay comfortable is really noticed. I would have to say it is the best we have stayed in and we are pretty seasoned B&B visitors. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
1,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
585 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
642 reviews
8.0 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt House Inn

Property: Hoyt House Inn
Address: 804 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyt House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Intimate, Luxurious Bed & Breakfast that will exceed your expectations with five star amenities, three course gourmet made to order choice breakfast, heated pool & spa for your relaxing pleasure. Enjoy complimentary bicycles to ride to the beach or tour the Historic District, complimentary off street parking, luxury robes and body wraps, and complimentary cocktail hour. Our English Pub Amelia Lounge is serving our special Hoytie Toytie Martini with Dragon Fruit Vodka. Come home to The Hoyt House where you will re-learn how to relax again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Hoyt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyt House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing