We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay because of warm/wonderful innkeepers and superb breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful nights last week at the charming Hoyt House with the incomparable innkeepers Deborah and Myrta. They are both very warm and welcoming and exceeded our expectations to make sure we had a great vacation (They succeeded!) Our room (Willis) had a very comfortable bed and a spacious, clean bathroom. We were greeted with fresh baked cookies and apples in our room. My husband and I are still talking about the yummy, large breakfast portions (fresh fruit and especially the fritattas and the poached egg over the fried potato slices) We spent a wonderful afternoon relaxing in the fabulous backyard pool. Deborah and Myrta thought of everything--we enjoyed borrowing their bikes, beach chairs, towels, and boogie boards! We loved hanging out with the other guests at the afternoon "happy hour" complete with complimentary refreshments. It was a quick walk to the rest of the historic district. You'll love it here, too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

My wife and I spent our 1-week honeymoon at the Hoyt house. Deborah & Myrta gave an extra shot of warmth that no B&B could offer on it's own as well of a list of amenities that made our stay one we'll remember for the rest of our lives. We purchased the Romance Package which included out of this world chocolate covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne, a picnic basket lunch, 2 massages, and a fruit/shrimp platter. This was on top of their standard amenities which exceeded our expectations, such as 1) the daily complimentary cocktail hour (generous pour of 1 beverage of your choice) and an arrangement of fruits, meats, cheeses, olives, and hummus, 2) the complimentary bicycle rentals, 3) the assortment of newspapers and books to read, 4) the extensive DVD library, 5) the beach gear, 6) and discounts on some local activities. We most definitely will return to the Hoyt House and recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night, a stopover on our way to Hilton Head Island, and found the Hoyt House to be an excellent choice. The owners, who are charming, have been here for less than a year, and they are working extra hard to build an excellent reputation. They really pile on the amenities -- we had amenities here that you do not find in five-star hotels. You have to give them credit.

The property itself is quite attractive, an old mansion located on the edge of the historic center of Fernandina Beach town, which is peaceful and enchanting. The house has been well-maintained, furnished and renovated with great charm and taste. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast generous and tasty.

The owners helpfully recommended local restaurants, several of which are within short walking distance. Harborfront attractions are also within walking distance, though slightly further away.

Everything you would expect in a quality B&B, with extra amenities to boot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I was traveling with my mother and two daughters for mothers day weekend. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and i must admit I was totally surprised. For all of us it was a relaxing weekend. We loved it and would love to come back. Not one complaint.

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flagrl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

the innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. My sister needed special assistance and they made it relatively easy. The breakfast was divine. The porch felt like home, the pool was private and you can walk to the village of Fernandina Beach. I will definatley go back. connie

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connortaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We held our 25th Sorority reunion here with 12 women. Myrta and Deborah were wonderful to work with and so helpful with our needs as a group. I would recommend this B&B to everyone who wants to hold a reunion here, be it family or friends. Perfect location to enjoying the island.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiPenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My son is 15 years old and wheelchair bound. Needless to say, accommodations are very difficult to come by. This is the reason why I hadn't taken a vacation in 10 years!! I finally decided to treat myself and my son to some R and R!! A cold hotel just didn't seem like the right option for us! I am so happy with the choice I made! There was plenty of room for my son and his chair! The setting was very comfortable! Even the most high strung person could not help feeling relaxed! The pool and the poolside were delightful!! The inn keepers thought of everything! They even had a personalized welcome card waiting for us when we checked in our rooms! Our whole experience there was just pure relaxation! It was all the luxuries of a get away without all the commercialism! The intimate setting of the Hoyt House was just what my son and I needed! We cannot wait to be able to get away again, because we are going right back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo0795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amelia Island Williams House
Amelia Island Williams House
#4 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 804 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $237 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An adult only luxurious Bed & Breakfast that exceeds your expectations with five star amenities, gourmet made to order breakfast, heated pool & spa, individually controlled thermostats in each room, complimentary bicycles to ride, off street parking, luxury robes and body wraps, and complimentary cocktail hour in our very own Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyt House Bed And Breakfast Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing