We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If traveling to Amelia Island and Fernandina Beach -- must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merge Restaurant - CLOSED

Merge Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Newly opened about two months ago. Dinners nightly plus Brunch on Sunday.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If traveling to Amelia Island and Fernandina Beach -- must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've been visiting Amelia Island and Fernandina Beach for over 25 years with our family -- and we're delighted with Merge Restaurant! It has become our absolutely favorite. The specials are wonderful, and in two years not once have we had a negative or even mediocre experience. The atmosphere is warm and informal with "fine dining food" -- which makes for a relaxed and enjoyable evening -- complimented by an excellent meal. When vacationing, we try to go to Merge a couple of times each week -- as the food and price is superior to anything else on the island. Adam Sears, the chef, is truly talented!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    57
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply. Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everything was fantastic! Our server Greg took so much pride in the food and let us sample a couple of wines. We ordered the local catch of the day, snapper...perfect portion and delicious, delivered by Adam the chef and owner! Dessert was banana bread pudding with house made chocolate peanut butter ice cream. Incredible! Adam also impressed us with some amazing card tricks. Highly highly recommend this place and will definitely return next time I'm in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food, small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This quaint little restaurant sits 26 people and has nice stained glass to set the atmosphere. We ordered a flat bread churizo and it was good, but small to share. My husband ordered the scallops and they were over cooked. I ordered grilled shrimp and risotto and it was great! Both portions of the entrees were small too, but were tasty. A nice evening but I'm not sure I would rate it as one of the best in Fernandina. I don't like paying a lot of money for small portions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jleigh31879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Merge is a restaurant we have experienced since its opening and always enjoyed the creative culinary skills if it Chef/Owner Adam Sears. Over time we appreciated and patronized this up-coming restaurant with frequent visits. This last time was not a good one. We last visited Merge last April and the changes were noticeable. Perhaps a bad night, we want to reserve final judgement until the next visit. The place was not clean, the service was appalling. Consequently, the chef was cooking and serving, regrettably both were compromised in quality. In fairness we suggest to try it and see knowing that this last experience was not a good one. We will try again next time on the Island mainly out of the acquaintance we developed with Mr. Sears. I hope he can turn this around for him and the culinary selection on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bursting with flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a tiny hidden gem. Only about 8 tables with a larger room in the back. Friendly wait staff greet you immediately. The chef brought out our plates and explained what each one was and the followed up after the meal to ask how we liked it. I can only say each bite was a new taste. I had the tuna and my husband had the duck. That was the best duck he has ever had and he eats duck every time it's on a menu. I liked the casual atmosphere and the fact that you didn't have to shout to be heard. We had the cheese cake cream brûlée for dessert and it was great! Tasted a lot like flan without the egginess. Worth going to for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bijemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merge Restaurant also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing