We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beautiful Jersey shore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Residence Inn was the perfect home base for our Amelia Island vacation. While not in "old town" it is centrally located, close to the beach and several good restaurants. The staff could not have been nicer, in spite of being booked solid and tending to several large travel groups. Our 1 BR suite was spacious and comfortable for 2, with a full kitchen, small table, living area and comfy BR. Housekeeping was excellent. The unit's pots & pans were destroyed, but when I complained, we were given a brand new full set. Twice during the week we were there hotel management hosted a party - one was a wine & cheese reception, the other a burger & hot dog BBQ. What a great way to meet the staff! If I have to knock them for anything, it's the breakfast. I'm sure it's no worse than other hotels' "free breakfast," but it wasn't great. The toaster didn't toast, and the hot dishes were seldom hot. But we would definitely return to the Residence Inn next time we visit Amelia Island.

Room Tip: The 1 BR suite is great if you spend time in the room - plenty of room to hang out & relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    235
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
422
626
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were offered and accepted a suite in the "quiet" side of the Inn. It was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Two rooms, two flat screens, full kitchen and room to work at a nice desk. Staff was always polite and friendly. Hot buffet breakfast every morning was a definite plus. One evening they offered a free buffet of burgers, hot dogs, and plenty of other things, as well as soda, beer and wine. It was an unexpected surprise. We were two blocks to the beach which was very convenient. Nice pool and hot tub with plenty of big towels on site. Only draw-back: the property allows small pets. (Not our cup of tea) So, at 5AM and 11PM a small barking dog was making a racket until the owner, I guess, took him out for a walk. Grrr! Otherwise, we enjoyed the place a great deal. You MUST eat at La Mancha, 200 yards from the Inn. Super!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms where they put the pets, unless you bring one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceL4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I booked this hotel after reading the glowing reviews on this site, and we were not disappointed. They were all spot on! The suites are nicely decorated and clean, and the kitchens are well equipped. The hotel is only a five minute walk to the beach and about a 5-10 minute drive to the historic district of Fernandina Beach. We also went to St.Augustine, which is just an hour or so south. The staff is especially friendly. Note that pets are allowed, but never heard a peep from any of them! In fact, the hotel is exceptionally quiet. The pool, fire pit and hot tub area is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We took the wife, kids and dog to the Residence Inn for spring break. We found the Inn common areas and room to be very clean, the suite-room with a private bedroom was a rare treat, and the staff went out of their way to assist us. The hotel was convenient to the beach (best to drive the 1/4 mile or take a shuttle which was always just a phone call away) and a 10-minute drive to the historic area where the better restaurants are located. Breakfasts (included buffet) over the 5 days had different options. We made good use of the hot tub and putting green and the 2.5 mile Greenway bike/hike trail directly behind the hotel was a nice amenity. Overall the best attribute would be the wait staff, headlined by Shane at the front desk.

Room Tip: dog friendly on the 1st and 2nd floor, so in my opinion if you don't have a pet no need to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigdtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property- had a double room upgrade to a two bedroom suite! Best way to travel with teenagers- 2 bathrooms, 3 flat screen tvs, full kitchen, plus a very nice breakfast in the morning! Very friendly and helpful staff.

I will note that it is a pet friendly hotel, so if that's an issue you must ask for a room where there are no pets allowed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Breakfast fab, service really good, free shuttle wherever you want on Island, rooms best we have had during our tour.

Pool fab and fire pit in evening a great touch. Small shop to buy treats, wine, beers to have on site.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I visited Amelia Island with friends for a long weekend. So happy we chose The Residence Inn. The 1 bedroom the suite was lovely. We really appreciated having a full kitchen. The complimentary breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise. Lots of choices, everything was fresh and vary attentive staff made this a great way to start your day. The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and the location is great. Also loved the availability of bicycles for the nature path adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlook the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GingergirlDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
853 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amelia Island

Property: Residence Inn Amelia Island
Address: 2301 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on long stays at the Residence Inn Amelia Island. Our Amelia Island hotel offers a welcoming, comfortable environment, with spacious, newly renovated accommodations and everything you need for a great stay in Florida. Settle in to your newly refreshed studio, one-bedroom, or two-bedroom suite, and enjoy perks like free wireless Internet and a 37-inch flat-screen TV. A full kitchen allows you to prepare a meal or a snack any time you want it. Take advantage of the hotel's complimentary island shuttle that is on call to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on Amelia Island from 9AM-9PM daily. Start your morning with a free hot breakfast, or spend some time at our outdoor pool and soak up the Florida sun. Additional hotel amenities include a fire pit, putting green, and fitness center. And let's not forget our location - just two blocks from the beach, and a short distance from the attractions of downtown Amelia Island. Whether you're in Florida for business or pleasure, the Residence Inn Amelia Island will make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing