We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful fort and amazing park

We toured the park on our own and found it to be very interesting. Great history and re-enactments... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
lowens311
,
Kansas City, Missouri
via mobile
Amazing history!

It is wonderful to see that history is still being preserved. The youth of today need to spend time... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Palmetto M
via mobile
Read all 3,055 reviews
  
Reviews (3,055)
Filter reviews
3,028 results
Traveler rating
2,071
825
120
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,071
825
120
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing pier fort clinch long pier hiking trails civil war re enactors beautiful drive spanish moss half mile shark teeth bike riding old florida living history step back in time live oaks entrance fee beach area
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,028 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We toured the park on our own and found it to be very interesting. Great history and re-enactments all over. I particularly enjoyed the surrounding beach and woods, as they were full of bird life and gorgeous views. We spent more time her than we planned, but would’ve liked to spend more!

Thank lowens311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

It is wonderful to see that history is still being preserved. The youth of today need to spend time visiting this wonderful piece of our history.

Thank Palmetto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

While the Fort is interesting and the re-enactors are knowledgeable, the park offers so much more -- camping; biking trails, and beach access. Florida State Parks are an exceptional value, and Ft Clinch is an outstanding location.

Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Fort clinch is a nice walk with the family. Kids got to see an old fort. Private beach area. You can go camping and there is even an old re-enactment there. I live on the island and this is the first time I went

Thank josephinem808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We walked one of the trails and spent about an hour checking out the fort. It’s bigger than some that I’ve visited and they’ve done a nice job of presenting what life was like for soldiers in the late 1800s

Thank 875lynnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to unwind and see everything Old Florida has to offer. Wildlife, river, ocean, fishing, nature trails, and many more adventures in one park.

Thank Discover37112541648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

People were super friendly. Nice museum that tells the history. Live actors in the fort were very informative. A great walk around. Also walked the beach for shells. All in all a great day

Thank TeG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can't beat this scenic treat for only $6 a car! Drive beneath the canopy of moss draped trees, stroll out to the pristine and secluded beach, take a walk or ride a bike down trails, or visit the fort. Lots to do here for all sorts of folks whether exploring on your own or in a group. Lots of sweet spots for picture taking, too!

Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It takes 15 minutes to ride from the entrance of Fort Clinch on Atlantic Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Florida, too the welcome station. A short walk beyond that, while admiring the exterior of the fort, will take you to the drawbridge which is always down and welcoming. On the 1st weekend of the month, there are lots of costume reenactors addressing you in
1862 speak. Other days, there may not be as many reenactors on hand, but there is always someone about to answer questions. See barracks, hospital, old timey store, jail, bakery, all inside the fort. Modern day women might be reprimanded for wearing nail polish and short pants. If you love history, this is a wonderful place to visit. Up on the wall are cannon pointed out to sea. The brick work in the tunnels is worth the trip alone. Photo ops galore here. Google for activities and prices. Oh, The Jollification of Ft. Clinch is a fun, family event before Christmas. Lit by lanterns and candles, you can sit around a bonfire while drinking hot chocolate and eating cookies. Sing carols, too, accompanied by a fife or maybe a violin!

1  Thank JaneM3542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Find the private beach
Have never seen so many seashells
Very scenic drive must see if in area
Only 6 dollar entrance fee for car

1  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews