We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place !!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I rode into town on my Vespa looking for a place to stay. I was about to end a 3000 mile journey and wanted to treat myself to I nice place. I could not have picked a better place than the Addison.. After a long, hot day on the Vespa the "happy hour" is what got my attention but the attention to detail and the excellent Inn keepers is what won me over. Meeting the other guests at happy hour was great and I delayed my departure to partake in the gourmet breakfast. It was an excellent experience and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed for three nights and the innkeepers spoiled us each night. Starting with a charming cocktail hour that was never limited to an hour and great recommendations for dinner and night life. Each morning began with hot coffee and a gourmet breakfast. Both happy hour and breakfast were served on the veranda in the courtyard that is quite and relaxing to sit in. The innkeepers helped us plan out our trip with the best of things the Island had to offer. We were with in walking distance of all the best restaurants and nestled right into the historic down town. All the rooms are different each with their own special touch that makes them charming and comfortable. I have never had such detail oriented house keeping as well. The inn is a bike ride from the beach that is never crowded. It was one of the best inns we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allis_Gilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at The Addison to celebrate our 13th Anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful...the A/C FREEZING (per our settings), the grounds outstanding, the location ideal, and the owners cordial, accomodating, and outgoing. We took advantage of the bikes, fresh homeade breakfast, and happy hour. We also enjoyed how close it was to everything. We parked when we arrived and didn't get back in our vehicle until we left. We also took advantage of the 4 star dinner served on weekends by private chef. The food was worth every penny! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanebarnes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

There is a very good reason why The Addison is at the top of the list for B&Bs to stay at when visiting Amelia Island. It is simply OUTSTANDING! My husband and I have stayed at The Addison on two separate occasions, and both visits were priceless!
The breakfasts are delicious and served on a charming porch overlooking the courtyard. Though this Inn is conveniently located in the heart of Amelia Island, the environment is quaint and private. Happy hour should never be missed. Bob and Shannon host this daily gathering with all their wonderful guests who share their adventures over wine, beer, and incredible appetizers prepared by Grant. Speaking of Grant and things not to be missed: dinner! We have yet to find a better meal and it is served by the inn’s own gracious Leigh.
The rooms are immaculate and kept so during our entire visit by the very efficient Kati. They are sinfully comfortable with luxurious bedding and towels, and beds that long to be slept in. They are also tastefully decorated to depict the beautiful Amelia Island.
If you can pull yourself away from the inn during your visit, Bob will promptly provide bicycles, beach chairs, or beach towels to enhance your Amelia experiences. All the extras that Bob and Shannon provide are included in the price of the room, which we feel is worth every penny!
Still on island time,
Don and Carla

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnIslandTimeStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Great room, great location, great food, and great hosts. Loved all of it. The unique fountain courtyard and surrounding covered porches made us feel like we were in a grand southern mansion. Rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Bob and Shannon have thought of everything. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowernheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Superb food! Beautiful rooms. Convenient location. Definately WILL return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My wife and I spent our anniversary at the Addison. The owners/operators are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. The facilities are very nice and located in a great place (one block off of Centre Street). The service was very good throughout our stay. My only complaint is the price. The room was very small with no balcony or other great amenities; $225 a night plus tax seems excessive, even for a destination town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deacondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STidball, Owner at The Addison on Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2009

We are sorry that this guest did not apprectiate the many amenities that provide a value-added stay at the Addison. Amenities include luxurious linens, towels and robes, spa-quality bath amenities, 24-7 coffee and tea and snacks, complimentary bottled water, concierge services, WiFi throughout the property, a guest fridge, our complimentary Happy Hour with beer, wine and appetizers, complimentary beach chairs and towels, beach cruizer bicycles, on-site dining and catering and our great, full breakfast served every morning. Guests who stay in rooms without private decks are always welcome to sit on the courtyard verandah or on the rocking chairs out on the front porch. Our rates are mid-range compared to other B&Bs on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
707 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,561 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amelia Island Williams House
Amelia Island Williams House
#4 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $195 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing