We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Complete Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 29, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ESMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NativeFloridian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

My wife and I had a fantastic time staying at the Addison in Amelia Island for our our second wedding anniversary. We had stayed at the Addison a few years ago and loved it, but this time was even better. Bob & Shannon Tidball, who recently took over the property, are truly naturals when it comes time to running a B&B. They are really on top of it from having everything on hand for beach trips (chairs, beach towels, cooler, and wine opener of course) to Shannon's delicious breakfasts (the strawberry shortcake breakfast biscuit our first morning was unreal) and Bob's 5pm happy (two+) hour with New Castle on tap and tasty appetizers to tide us over until dinner. Upon arrival the Tidballs had the room ready with roses and a tasty cheese plate and had the wine chiller ready to go.

We stayed in room 6, which faces the main courtyard and is just a few paces away from the deck off the back of the main house. The fountain outside our room was the perfect background sound for relaxing on our porch while reading a book or enjoying a glass of wine. The oversized jetted tub (for at least two) provided even more R&R time for my wife and I. We really can't say enough about how refreshing our stay at the Addison was. We'll surely return as long as the Tidballs are running the show.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jerz7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I've stayed at many B&Bs in the US and the Addison on Amelia is the best of the best! It's stunningly beautiful, clean, comfortable, and the innkeepers are very friendly and personable. The breakfasts were amazing, as well - absolutely gourmet! My mother and I were blown away. The Addison's website also represents the inn perfectly. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank artbuyerinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

My wife and I picked the Addison after doing a little online research and we were very happy we did. They really lived up to their reputation. The room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The staff and the innkeepers are very gracious and hospitable. And the breakfast is out of this world. Hope you get to try the smoothies & belgian waffles. Or the breakfast in a boat! The inn is located literally a block from the restaurants and shopping. The area is beautiful, quiet and relaxing. I would highly recommend staying. I'm coming back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed 2 nights as guests of the Tidballs. One would never know they are new inn owners as everything is run perfectly. The inn is in great shape. Rooms have everything a visitor could need and some special unexpected touches such as a large glass shower and robes. Happy hour is a good way to meet the other guests over wine and beer. Shannon does a great job serving an interesting (and filling) breakfast that will hold you until 1 or 2 pm. Bob is the perfect host with a good sense of humor and always willing to help with anything. We cannot imagine choosing a better inn for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rmarti37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We decided to stop at Amelia Island on our way home from vacation. In searching for a place to stay, we discovered The Addison, which far surpassed the other Bed and Breakfasts we stopped in on the island before making our decision (we were looking for someplace nice). The newly renovated Inn is decorated meticulously, with refreshing lines and colors. The sheets and towels are soft and lush, feeling like we just entered a five star hotel. Most importantly, everything was perfectly clean, without a single detail overlooked. As most of the other reviews mention, the breakfast on the patio overlooking the beautiful courtyard was phenomenal! They even serve organic, fair trade coffee that complimented the experience perfectly! The price for the room was comparable to other B&Bs that were not even half as nice as The Addison. I highly recommend The Addison for your next visit to Amelia Island.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WorldTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,525 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $195 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing