We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Meals and a Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Addison on Amelia Island to your Saves list
The Addison on Amelia Island
614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sweet Summer Sale 15% Off
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Orange, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Rooms, Great Meals and a Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Addison just to get away for a few days. Bob and Shannon were great and we had a wonderful time. We will definately be back and would recommend the Addison to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. The Fenandina Beach / Amelia Island area is beautiful as is Clinch State Park. - Can't forget the unbelieveable breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed every part of our stay. We wanted to enjoy every moment so we came right at check in time. We were shown to our room by Lee, Bob and Shannon's daughter. We loved exploring the facility and our beautiful room. Our jacuzzi tub was certainly built for 2! The grounds were as gorgeous as the pictures. We stayed in room 12 upstairs overlooking the fountain and I don't think we ever had direct sun on our balcony. The huge oak trees in the courtyard shaded it perfectly and so we were able to really relax in the comfy wicker chairs outside our door. We went down for happy hour at 5 and had fun meeting other guests and the food was great. Each night guests were offered from a small selection of beer and wine. The first night we were served some bread spread with herbal cream cheese and bacon jam. Never have had bacon jam but I would love to eat that again! We expressed interest in the recipe and the next morning at breakfast, Shannon had kindly printed out the recipe for us! Our first evening we walked down a block to the historic district and just loved discovering all the shops of this adorable town. We ate at a cute Mexican place called Pablo's but had to share an entree because we were still pretty full from happy hour! Afterwards we still managed to visit one of the many dessert shops and had Ice cream before we strolled back to the Inn.
Our breakfast the next morning began with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and a glass of water. Then Bob, the innkeeper, brought out a chilled goblet layered fruit (mango, blackberries& blueberries) and lime yogurt, then topped with granola. It was delicious and we ate every bite. Then the main course was a French toast croissant and a small pitcher of blueberry/raspberry /pomegranate syrup was brought with it and plate had a garnish of 2 cherries, 3 raspberries. And we finished our meal as we did both mornings, with a cup of coffee as we sat relaxing on their beautiful verandah overlooking the fountain and lush courtyard.
We were so full that we ended up just eating a snack late in the afternoon to get us to the happy
hour, of fresh baked bread with
warm Brie. We met the new guests that had recently checked in and visited awhile before we headed out for our reservations at Espana for our last evening. We loved the restaurant choices all so close by and were sad to have only 2 nights. My husband is a handyman and can do lots of jobs around our own home and so he noticed how hard the owners worked at keeping the property in good condition. On the day we were there, Bob replaced door molding and a threshold on a room adjoining the main area in a response to comments made regarding noise level in that room. It's very clear that these people care about their customers comfort and make every effort to work at making it the best it can possibly be.
On our last morning we again had fresy squeezed juice and a great breakfast. That morning it was a chocolate raspberry muffin followed by a cantaloupe fizz drink, and then a fried egg, ham and provolone panini with rosemary potatoes with a garnish of spinach leaves and 2 half moon slices of tomatoes
artfully placed on the plate. I can only think if good and wonderful adjectives to describe The Addison on Amelia!
We enjoyed staying at this lovely inn and would love to return someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gradlgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I hesitate to write this, b/c I want to be able to get a room next time I come to Fernandina! But I loved the Addison! It was the perfect place for me to enjoy a quiet weekend getaway and Bob and Shannon were wonderful hosts. Their advice & recommendations on restaurants and things to do were all right on the money, breakfasts were delicious & filling, happy hours were fun and I enjoyed meeting other guests, including some from my own home town! They also had everything I needed to enjoy my stay from beach towels to chairs to bicycles! Shannon even accommodated my dairy allergies by making my breakfast w/ almond milk instead of heavy cream one morning and it was absolutely delicious! I will definitely come back!

Green Features: I love that the hotel is green and they use local foods to prepare their delicious breakfasts and happy hours..
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It is truly a revitalizing experience to visit Fernandina Beach, and to stay at The Addison. Bob and Shannon make your stay so comfortable. The rooms are so lovely they're hard to leave. The breakfasts are filling enough, and the tastes so memorable, you don't need to eat again until dinner! And of course their signature happy hour is well worth the price of admission. Fellow guests become friends. And both Bob and Shannon have such great stories to tell about their previous lives before becoming innkeepers. It's hard to leave for dinner.
My husband and I are repeat offenders, as Bob likes to say, because The Addison is a place to cant wait to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated our first year anniversary at the Addison. Bob and Shannon were very nice and very accommodating. It's location was easy to find. Our room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and was as advertised. The food was hot and delicious. We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed 5 wonderful nights at the Addison. The Inn/B&B is absolutely beautiful, the grounds and landscaping are a delight and so well maintained. My room was charming and so comfortable. The service was exceptional and Bob and Shannon ( Inn keepers) are very warm & friendly and truly know how to make their guests feel comfortable. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, sitting on the deck eating and listening to the water running in the fountain was oh so peaceful and relaxing. The adorable town of Fernandina is only 1 block away with lovely shops and a variety of great restaurants, a fudge shop and yummy ice cream shops too! The Inn has bikes available, and I enjoyed riding all around the town and to the beach. My stay was perfect and I plan on returning and bringing some family in future visits.
Thank you Bob, Shannon, Lee and staff for a truly enjoyable and relaxing time at the Addison,
D. Paparozzi- Chicago, IL

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our first visit to the Addison was terrific, from beginning to end. Everything is top-notch: spacious, clean and well appointed rooms; delicious (and varied) breakfasts; a delightful happy hour; and friendly service from Bob and Shannon. Even the beach chairs, umbrella, and towels were first-rate! The location is perfect: within the historic district, and therefore walkably close to restaurants and shops, but far enough east that it's easy to head out to Ft. Clinch or the beach. It's far and away one of the best B&B experiences we've had.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4, in the original house, and liked it very much. Even with guests on either side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjletocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia...
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 7 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoyt House Inn
Hoyt House Inn
#4 of 7 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#