We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the most beautiful and relaxing bed and breakfast! The bed was super comfy, the owners/staff were very nice, it was clean, and breakfast was delicious! They had bikes, movies, games, snacks, bath salts...you get the picture. Anything to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable! My husband said, he was as comfortable as staying with family- in a good way! The Addison was a fantastic treat!

Room Tip: Room 4 had a great tub and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverandcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
709
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This B&B is a genuine rare gem. Spotless rooms, top-notch housekeeping and genuinely welcoming and warm innkeepers Bob and Shannon make your stay a pleasure. The breakfasts are extraordinarily delicious….no need for lunch! You can fall asleep to the pleasant drop of the fountain in the square and don’t miss the Happy Hour-- you are likely to meet a lively and interesting set of fellow guests. Bob is a wealth of information about sites and timetables and directions and all those annoying detailed questions that he has likely answered on thousand times by now. Shannon is a cook extraordinaire—a talent only eclipsed by her interior decorating abilities. I am a very picky person and I would stay there again in a nanosecond. Don’t miss it!

Room Tip: Our room (#6) is excellent if you have mobility problems. However, it is near the porch and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from Amelia Island and six wonderful days at The Addison. While the description and testimonials on line influenced our decision to stay there, The Addison surpassed our expectations. Perfect is the adjective that describes our experience. The gourmet breakfasts that changed daily, the lovely room, the daily happy hour and the charming inn keepers were all part of our enjoyable stay. We extended our stay for one night before we sadly had to leave. We can't wait to return, and we will. Thank you Bob, Shannon and Lee.
Gary and Beverly

Room Tip: We requested and received a first floor room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I needed a quiet getaway for a few days and had visited the Island many times in the past, however, always staying in a nearby hotel. I decided a B&B would best fit the stay this time and wow, did I find a gem! There is nothing about this gem being in the rough. It is truly polished and brilliant from the warm and kind owners, Bob and Shannon, to the fantastic staff. If you want to feel welcomed, pampered, and special on your excursion to this beautiful Island, this is the place to stay. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Addison is truly special--it is a very well maintained, lovely, friendly place to spend a few days in darling Fernandina Beach. Bob and Shannon are excellent hosts and the afternoon happy hour and morning breakfasts are worth the visit alone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14--it was a nice size, had a precious balcony overlooking the street and a huge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowmore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I thank Bob and Shannon and Lee for the wonderful time we had at the inn. The breakfasts were so delicious. And we really enjoyed the afternoon happy hour! It was so nice to walk to everything, Still mentally on "island time". Hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second time-and we will be back. The service is excellent, the rooms are charming, the staff is very welcoming. The location is very convenient. Very much worth visiting.
We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 95Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoyt House Inn
Hoyt House Inn
#3 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#6 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing