We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escaping Atlanta”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Addison is truly special--it is a very well maintained, lovely, friendly place to spend a few days in darling Fernandina Beach. Bob and Shannon are excellent hosts and the afternoon happy hour and morning breakfasts are worth the visit alone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14--it was a nice size, had a precious balcony overlooking the street and a huge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowmore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I thank Bob and Shannon and Lee for the wonderful time we had at the inn. The breakfasts were so delicious. And we really enjoyed the afternoon happy hour! It was so nice to walk to everything, Still mentally on "island time". Hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second time-and we will be back. The service is excellent, the rooms are charming, the staff is very welcoming. The location is very convenient. Very much worth visiting.
We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Addison for our babymoon!
Had a 1st floor room on the courtyard, so only 2 stairs to deal with as a very pregnant mom to be. Loved hearing the trickle of the fountain in the courtyard.
Breakfast every morning was fantastic - 1st day there was a strawberry rhubarb tart as the 1st course that was soooo good!
Hubby can't do caffeine but loves coffee, he even said the decaf coffee w/ breakfast was good & he is hard to please with the decaf.
There were always drinks & snacks available in the dining room.
Beach chairs & towels were provided & the beach is a 2 mile drive away.
All the restaurants & shops in "downtown" Fernandina are in walking distance.
Great relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southerngirlvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the wonderfully appointed room to the linen table cloth covered tables the experience is truly first class. The food is delicious and the service is top rate. the hosts Bob and Shannon are both attentive and entertaining an extremely rare combination with B&B's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Amelia Island and we found both the Island, the people and our 3-day stay at the Addison fantastic. Bob and Shannon were outstanding hosts, and met our every need. The breakfast each morning was gourmet fare, delicious and beautifully presented.
Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the interior courtyard, was very peaceful and well appointed. Shopping and restuarants were a short walk from the front door. We enjoyed the harbor cruise and several excellent restuarants that Bob and Shannon recommended. We also enjoyed the cocktail hour and the many other guess that we met.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Amelia Island during my nursing school spring break for Christmas. He told me that he tried to get a room at the Ritz Carlton for the following week but they were booked due to a car show. So instead he picked The Addison. I was a little bummed because we have stayed at B&B's in St. Augustine and I would say that they were average but definitely nothing like the reputation of the Ritz. Well, the Addison BLEW ME AWAY! Besides being historical, adorable,and very clean the owners Bob, Shannon, and their daughter Lee's hospitality was top notch and met all of our requests during our stay. We had room number 3 in the main house. My husband picked it because of the over sized porch. Unfortunately, it was so cold that weekend we never went out there. Luckily there was a one touch timed gas fireplace in our room, which was a great surprise, that we used all weekend! The king size bed and pillows gave us such a cozy, relaxing, and comfortable sleep. We snuggled every night in that big bed while watching a movie that they provided. I stuffed myself every morning with their wonderful, amazing, gourmet breakfast and fresh squeezed orange juice. I was very impressed that I only told them once upon check in that I was a vegetarian and the 3 breakfasts' we had they remembered every time! That has never happened before. We went to every happy hour and enjoyed beer, wine, and snacks while meeting the other guests and hearing their travel adventure stories. Bob was very educational about the island and had great recommendations. We went biking along the beach one day hoping to see the Ritz. It is so far down on the beach that it almost feels isolated. I was beyond happy that our accommodations turned out the way they did because I was so impressed with The Addison! The owners set up all our dinner reservations plus a horse and carriage ride with the prettiest horse. They provided us with a bag of carrots for us to feed the horse and napkins to wash our hands! The location of The Addison is perfect! Right in the heart of the historical downtown and walking distance to the restaurants, shops, and night life. My parents have never experienced a B&B and I called them the day we left and said we are taking you to The Addison! We absolutely loved our time there and will not pick another place to stay when we come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
245 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: $235 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing