We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Coast U.S.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rest Easy”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A lovely, quiet spot in North Florida. Very close to the shops of FB, but an oasis of calm. I do not hesitate to recommend this spot. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the hosts were very genuine. We used the cruiser bikes and they took us all over the island (and beyond).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
782
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Addison. The inn is beautiful, and our room was gorgeous and comfortable. We loved the location and enjoyed walking around the historic area of Fernandina Beach and visiting a few of the excellent neighbourhood restaurants. The breakfasts were divine, and Bob and Shannon's hospitality is unparalleled. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocoGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Decided to stay at the Addison for a birthday getaway and considering all the reviews I read, I went in with very high expectations. The Addison did not disappoint. It met those high expectations and more. We stayed on room 7 which was spacious and beautiful. The inn is immaculate and Bob is quite the inn keeper. The location is perfect, within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. Do make time to enjoy the happy hour while you're there as that was a nice time to meet other guests and share information about good restaurants and things to do.

I am already thinking about my next visit to The Addison!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbailey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had visited Fernandino Beach years ago and looked forward to a repeat visit, this time, at a different B&B. The Addison on Amelia was a great choice and is a delight in all respects. Many of the rooms are centered around a beautiful courtyard -- lush greenery everywhere. Our room was one of those. It was lovely -- not overly fussy, it was vibrant with Florida colors. We enjoyed a delightful wine hour in the parlor with innkeeer, Leigh, and some other guests before walking to an excellent restaurant nearby. Breakfast was deliciious and attractively presented.
Leigh is such a welcoming and gracious hostess. We felt right at home from the minute we arrived. As innkeepers, ourselves, we are probably more critical than many, and we highly recommend the Addison to anyone who wants a truly first rate B&B in this historic and lovely town.
Skip and Jennie
Mill Street Inn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I had a blast at The Addison......although I did gain a couple of pounds on their eye-popping, scrumptious breakfasts!! We strolled around historic Fernandina Beach, took bike rides on the cruiser bikes available right at the inn, walked the Main Beach and even took a Segway tour at Fort Clinch State Park. We were only there 3 nights, so we didn't get to do as much as we'd hoped. Bob and Shannon are wonderful hosts! Very attentive to your needs and always willing to help you find a restaurant, or assist with special requirements you may have. if their yummy breakfast is too much for you, you can ask for smaller fare. Even though it was February, the gardens are still beautiful with pansies blooming in front.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a huge jacuzzi tub for relaxing after a long bike ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and always wanted to stay at one. As it had many 5 star reviews, we decided to give The Addison a try, and also have our small wedding there. We are very happy with our choice. As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted with a warm smile. Bob and Shannon, the owners, made us feel right at home. They were very accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed.

We stayed in the well known honeymoon suite on the second floor of the historic main house. It was very clean. The sheets were soft (smelled clean and new too) and the bed was super comfy. The room was a nice size with tall ceilings and a cozy fireplace. The bathroom was roomy, clean and recently updated with tub and separate glass enclosed shower. The balcony ran the entire length of the home and faced Ash Street. What a beautiful view! The historic homes, the shady trees with singing birds and cute squirrels which you could view from a chaise or rocking chair. I loved it! The main house offers a parlor right by the front door where visitors and guests gathered daily, and had happy hour in front of the fireplace. There is a dining room in the back for when the weather is not cooperating, or in the courtyard for a wonderful and tranquil experience outside.

Bob officiated our wedding in the courtyard, and it was a lovely ceremony. The courtyard was magnificent, with paver stone walkways. There was also this beautiful 3 tier running fountain in the center surrounded by lush greenery. Perfect place for wedding pictures.

The breakfast was homemade and absolutely delicious! Nice variety. At one point, I just happen to mention to Shannon my favorite dessert was chocolate mousse, so on our last day there, she made some for us garnished with ripe raspberries. I was in heaven!

We plan on returning for our anniversary. Amelia Island is a beautiful historic town, idyllic, and The Addison was the icing on the cake. If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast, we would highly recommend anyone stay at least once at The Addison. If you are into quaint, cozy with an old world charm, you just might be hooked.

Thank you to Shannon and Bob for making our stay a wonderful experience. It is one we will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just spent a lovely 3-day weekend at the Addison and enjoyed the location and amenities of this beautiful property. The owners, Bob and Shannon, are great hosts and truly epitomize the concept of B&Bs. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the historic downtown and its beautiful Victorian homes, historic buildings, great restaurants, and (walking the other way), the beach. The owners/hosts will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Let them happily make your dinner reservations -- All of their suggestions were great. The gourmet breakfasts and lively happy hours just add to the experience of staying at this Inn. We highly recommend staying here on your trip to Amelia Island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foxsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
656 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing