We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Addison Inn - quite simply, the best there is.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Addison Inn - quite simply, the best there is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Addison on Amelia Island offers absolutely every ingredient required to equal perfection: elegant yet cozy rooms, gourmet breakfasts, congenial hosts who become friends after first meeting, and 5pm happy hour guaranteed to generate stimulating conversation with fellow travellers.
I can't recommend the Inn highly enough!

Room Tip: Based on my several stays at the Inn, both alone and with my husband, every room is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
728
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only live about 120 miles away, so this makes for a great weekend getaway. The town of Fernandina Beach is terrific, with great restaurants, fun shops, and a great selection of after dinner bars (most with live music), but the Addison makes it the perfect destination. The Inn is in a great location, and Bob and Shannon are the perfect hosts. The Inn and rooms are always immaculate, the breakfasts spectacular, and the Happy Hours a great way to enjoy time with Bob, Shannon and the other guests. If you are looking to try the Addison, you can rely on all of the information on the website, with its detailed description of rooms and locations within the property. There is much to do around town, and Bob and Shannon will assist you in making the most of your time there. Cannot imagine any way to make it a better experience - so we plan on coming back regularly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Addision for a week over Christmas and New Years to celebrate our honeymoon and had an amazing time! The breakfasts were delicious and different every day - we had to shift to two meals a day there was so much food to try. The innkeepers are friendly and very knowledgeable about the island - they provided information on everything from history to dinner recommendations and even a few ghost stories, if you are interested. Additionally, they have a concierge service and can help you make reservations for just about anything. We made several dinner reservations, went kyaking, and even went on a horse-drawn carriage around the historic downtown area. Because we stayed over Christmas and New Years, Bob and Shannon went out of their way to make each holiday a fun and memorable experience. Our room was decorated for Christmas and even had a small Christmas tree, complete with island sand-dollar and starfish ornaments. Happy hour on New Years Eve included champagne tasting for a fun start to the evening. If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind experience, the Addison is definitely the Bed&Breakfast to book! We made several new friends during happy hour and tried even more excellent food. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms outside the main house are nice because you don't have to go through the main house to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kallyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Addison. The location is terrific, within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops in the historic district. The breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order, so special requests can be accommodated. The Innkeepers go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable by providing snacks, home baked cookies, bottled water, and soda that are available in the main house any time of day, as well as a pleasant 5:00 happy hour with hors d'oeuvres. You can borrow anything from bikes to DVD's (the DVD player is on the side of the TV...like on a iMac), use their printer (for boarding passes) and fax (for an office emergency).

We had one of the smaller rooms (read least expensive). Tastefully decorated with outside seating facing the courtyard, it provided an excellent value. Immaculately clean and comfortable, with daily housekeeping that included candy dish & water bottle refill (yes, it's the attention to detail that makes the Addison special), along with a luxurious, dual-headed, ceramic tile shower, and cozy bedding, our room warm, peaceful, and relaxing.

We would not hesitate to visit the Addison, again. One note, though, if you want to be beach side, this is may not your place, as it's about two miles to the beach. If, however, you don't mind biking, power walking, or driving to the beach, so that you can later stroll to a bar or restaurant, the Addison is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthJerseyTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I like to stay at B&B's when visiting cities. The Addison was the best we have ever stayed at, by far. The Innkeepers were wonderful; the breakfast outstanding,& the Inn was decorated for the holidays-- gorgeous. The happy hour was a great way to converse with the other guests and Bob offered a variety of wines, beer and snacks. Also very helpful in suggesting places to eat (lunch at the Happy Tomato was delicious & inexpensive). We walked or biked everywhere and downtown Fernandina was quaint and the Victorian homes on surrounding streets were beautiful.
Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amelia Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved our stay at the Addison so much that we didn't want to leave. Bob, Shannon and Leigh did a fantastic job of making everyone feel at home. The rooms were extremely clean, the breakfast was delicious and the daily happy hours were a great place to mingle with other guests and relax inside from the cold weather. Don't hesitate to book your stay at the Addison!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CouplefromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I went here for our 10th anniversary. The rooms were amazing, the breakfasts were delicious, and Bob was very informative and helpful. We loved that they had bikes here and we were able to ride them to the beach and to Fort Clinch. (It's about 9 miles round trip to go all the way to the fort and back.) We also loved the courtyard and only wish it had been warmer so we could have eaten outside overlooking the courtyard.

This is a great location and there is so much to do within walking distance. Some of our favorite restaurants were Lulu's, Bonito Grill and Sushi, and Espana. We did an Amelia Island River Cruise and that was definitely the highlight of our trip.

We stayed in room 14, which had a private porch overlooking Ash St. I think all of the rooms are probably great though.

Two minor things - the rooms were not very dark during the night. I woke up at 2 AM and thought the sun was up already. Also, they have DVD's that you can take to your room to watch, but no DVD player! I guess you can watch it on your laptop if you brought one....?

I would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose a room that's not right on Ash St. You can see the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MajinBuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing