We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A quaint experience not to miss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quaint experience not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

A different Oceanside stay. A touch of the NE on the upper Florida Coast with next door proximity to Amelia and Fernandina Beach. Comfortable and attentive. Relax on the outdoor porch alone or talk to fellow travelers. Great breakfast. Quiet and truly relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    80
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
45
415
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Small, private place to stay right on the beach. We stayed on a small building next to the main house. The property had four units, two on the bottom and two on the top. We stayed in the top floor, facing the beach, with a huge sun deck. The room and bath are large, with sturdy furniture which brings to mind the west indies. Breakfast is served in the main house. While the breakfast is served buffet style it is very, very good. It is possible to get sandwiches and small snacks throughout the day and the sandwiches were good as well. There are umbrellas and lounge chairs provided beach side. The location of this b&b can't be beat. The property is located on the northern part of Fernandina Beach. It is a short drive away from all the restaurants and a short walk from a wonderful State Park, Fort Clinch. One thing I will say is that housekeeping is iffy.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, The Tradewinds is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I knew we would be travelling through Amelia Island and we only had one night to stay. Boy did we pick the right place!

Elizabeth Point is amazing. They have a beautiful view of a dune and the ocean. They have comfortable, friendly-feeling rooms. They have a ridiculously-scrumptious breakfast (maybe the best French toast ever). But best of all, they have impeccable customer service.

During our stay, we were able to check in early. They provided us with complimentary lemonade and homemade cookies. They provided us with complimentary beach towels so we didn't have to use ours and worry about the wet, sandy mess on the way home. They set up and took down the complimentary beach umbrellas and chairs for us. They even came out and warned us when a storm was coming. No resort can possibly offer that degree of service! We had dinner plans, but it is worth noting that they have 24-hour food service in addition to a complimentary wine/beer hour.

My only slightly negative comments are that a pool would be nice and a little less late night music from somewhere next door would have been icing on the cake.

I'm not a big B&B guy, and I was concerned going into our trip. Now I'm certain my wife and I will be back to Amelia Island and will definitely stay at the serene, yet completely-capable Elizabeth Pointe Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
426 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect small place to stay right on the beach! We had an oceanfront king room and kept our windows opened to see and hear the ocean all night long! The staff is wonderful - cannot do enough for you. Room service 24/7. Fantastic breakfast buffet every morning with different choices every day - biscuits and gravy, grits, eggs, meats. potatoes, fruits, cereals, bagels, breads, etc. Owners David and Susan and manager Olivia always around talking to and greeeting their guests. Happy hour every evening with wines, lemonade, cheese and fruit trays, hot appetizers, etc. Staff always ready to help with activity suugestions, will book reservations for you and will print out boarding passes. Couldn't recommend this place enough! Met some great people there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just spent one night here on our way back to Naples from Charleston. The staff were great, very friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. We had an oceanfront queen room, and it was great leaving the windows open and listening to the surf all night. The wine happy hour was great, with everyone congregating on the lovely back porch. The breakfast was also awesome. I would have loved to extend our visit, but they were booked. However they were more than accommodating with us wanting to stay and spend some extra time on the beach, offering to store the luggage and offering a changing room. I will definitely be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

At the Elizabeth Pointe Lodge we checked into one of the Oceanfront King rooms. The room was small, but nicely appointed. I always have to remind myself that a B&B is not a hotel.

They have a hotel-style breakfast with juices, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc, but the quality of the food is much better. They also have evening hors devours with wine or beer. Again the food was very good and the selection of wines excellent.

In general we were impressed with the staff here. They seemed a little slow in responding at the front desk at check in as the person there was answering the phone and no one else was paying any attention. We were told to ask anyone about things to do on the island, but when we did the person didn’t know anything about what we asked. Very confusing, but overall they do an excellent job. There were three weddings while we were there, all on the beach, which is very nice. As a plus the public beach is adjacent so there were life guards close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krytter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This small hotel/large bed and breakfast has great reviews and it lived up to most of the hype. I knew we might not get beach weather in March and I was right! It was down right cold on the beach but we had a great time going into Fernandina to shop and to eat at the many great restaurants. We also visited Fort Clinch state park on a beautiful sunny day and shielded from the wind by the old fort, I actually felt warm for a few hours.

Our room was located in the Ocean house on the lower floor. It smelled a bit musty and did not have a lot of light but it was the only room available when I booked. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed talking to some other couples both younger (20's) and older (60's). My husband and I had just turned 50. Both couples were from the south and we are from New Jersey so it was interesting.

The location of the hotel was not what I expected. Other homes on both sides were very close and although the lodge is beautiful, most of the other homes, condos and hotels along the beach are not. It was not aesthetically pleasing to walk along the beach and see such ugly architecture but the town of Fernandina, a very short ride away, is historic and pretty and so is Fort Clinch State Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese6446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Address: 98 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Pointe Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated "One of the 12 Best Waterfront Inns" in America, voted the #3 Top Resort in Florida in 2012 Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards, the Pointe sits directly on the beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The inn is a Nantucket "shingle style" architecture with broad porches around. Each room is individually outfitted with all contemporary accommodations and a choice of soaking tub or large Rainforest glass shower. The Lodge provides a full seaside breakfast and a 24/7 staff able to exceed your expectations. A selection of soups, salads, sandwiches, desserts and room service are available 24 hours a day. Complimentary WiFi DSL Internet service encompasses the property. USA Today is delivered to your room daily. Beach umbrellas, loungers and towels are set each day for your enjoyment. Amelia Island is abut 13 miles long and only 2 miles wide with beach the entire distance. The inn is only a short bike ride to the historic Seaport of Fernandina. There are many outstanding restaurants within 15 minutes of the Lodge. Focusing on individualized attention, Concierge assistance is available for day trips, bicycle touring, beach horseback riding, tennis golf, sailing, charter fishing, kayak and Segway tours, boat rentals, birding and spa experiences. Custom packages may developed for Honeymoons, Babymoons, anniversary and birthday celebrations, golf instruction, All Girl Getaways and small corporate meetings. The Pointe has the coveted Select Registry designation of a superior small lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Elizabeth Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Pointe Hotel Fernandina Beach
Elizabeth Pointe Amelia Island
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing