We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Accommodation for Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
262 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing Accommodation for Price”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The photograph of this inn on their website convinced us that we wanted to stay here. It appeared to be alone on a large expanse of beach. Don't be misled. This inn is situated on a strip of beach houses and motels. It is attractive on the outside and cozy on the inside. Our ocean-view room was so small that it was difficult to enjoy the view -- only one chair. It was very clean with a comfortable bed, but it did not justify the rate. The afternoon wine hour was in the small living area; it was too cold to sit outside on the large porch. The hors d'oeuvres were mediocre as was the breakfast buffet. Perhaps the owners are resting on their laurels. We are used to first-class accommodations for the rates this inn charges.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    93
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
52
464
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed here in August for 3 nights with my partner and it was lovely. It's located right on the beach and we particularly enjoyed sitting in the deck chairs on the porch watching the sunrise with a cup of tea! Everything was great except you had to drive into town to go for dinner as its a bit too far to walk back in the dark - but I suppose most places in the US are like that. The wine and snack in the afternoon was a great touch and the cookies were amazing! Would definitely go back if we're ever in that part of Florida again. Recommend the crazy golf in town as well!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I could talk about this place on and on but I will make it short and sweet.

This place is great. It feels like home....but away from home.

The staff are very good but Shirley is amazing. What a great lady and so helpful. It was a joy just to have her there to help.

The rooms were small but you wont care, they feel so comfortable its just unreal.
The bed was fabulous.

I am a snob at staying places So I was thrilled to be here.
If you are not all about hustle and bustle and nightlife this is the place to go to have a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FretboardWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We choose Elizabeth Pointe for our Babymoon based on the Tripadvisor reviews and the Babymoon package they offered and we were not disappointed. The inn is charming, perfectly located right on the beach. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to the sunrise over the water, the best sleep we have had in a long time. The porch was large and perfect for enjoying the late afternoon happy hour offered every day. We found the rooms to be thoughtfully decorated, comfortable, and quiet. Small touches such as flowers in the room, morning papers and evening NY Times Digest, were much appreciated. The staff was attentive, helpful, and friendly, making reservations, arranging bike rentals, and sharing their own favorite spots in the area. Breakfast was served in the sunny breakfast room and was large, tasty, and varied enough to accommodate even picky eaters (or the voracious appetite of a pregnant eater). Though we did not take advantage of the kitchen, it was nice to know that snacks, beverages, and small meals were available throughout the day and night (for a fee).

While we enjoy the intimacy of a small B&B, sometimes its nice not to have to talk with other guests. Elizabeth Pointe offers the happy balance of a larger inn, with the warmth of a B&B. We enjoyed meeting another young couple and sharing thoughts about dining, activities, life, etc...but we did not feel pressured to chat with every other guest as sometimes happens in smaller establishments. Overall, just what we had hoped for in our Babymoon. We will most definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teahouse77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were looking for a very relaxing getaway on the beach. We wanted to be right on the ocean but not in a highrise. We didn't need a condo because we were only staying a couple of days, but liked the idea of having breakfast and snacks in house. We also wanted to enjoy the beach ambiance (sounds, breezes, and sights) but needed to stay out of the sun. We found all this and more at Elizabeth Pointe. It's just HEAVEN! They put umbrellas and lounge chairs out on the beach for you to use (no extra cost). They have cookies and lemonade available at the front desk all day (no extra cost). They cook the most wonderful FULL, Hot breakfasts daily with eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, homemade breads, etc. (no extra cost) They are so helpful with ideas of places to eat or things to do. They have social hour every afternoon with light hor'dourves, beer, and wine (no extra cost.) If you want a`sandwich they will even make you one (but there is a charge for that.) But I think my favorite thing is the wrap around rocking chair porch overlooking the sand dunes and beach. You feel like you are visiting family who happen to own a beach home, not like you are in a hotel or condo. However if you want privacy, you can have that too. There are around 20-25 rooms so it's not like a small bed and breakfast where you feel like you have to make small talk with the other guests or owners, but of course, everyone is so friendly you probably will want to. It's not the cheapest place on the beach and was definitely a splurge for us. But it was so worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place was fantastic for so many reasons. It's right on the beach, the breakfast is yummy (they will make special orders), it's right on the beach (okay I said that already but seriously - most places say they're on the beach and this place really is), they host a wine and hors d’oeuvres happy hour every night that is very enjoyable and the staff is sincerely warm and inviting. My husband and I spent 4 nights at the EPL celebrating our honeymoon, ate at a few wonderful restaurants while we were visiting and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The lodge is located right on the beach and chairs and umbrellas are set out waiting for you after you have your lovely breakfast. The building is new construction but the attention to period details is perfect and the inside feels like a turn of the century Newport beach house. The people are very helpfful and friendly - especially Melanie, Mary Helene, and Olivia. You could stay at fancier places but if you are looking for easy-going, beachfront charm this is the place.
Chuck & Patty

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmundHillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
585 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
1,369 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Pointe Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Address: 98 S Fletcher Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Pointe Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Pointe offers oceanfront relaxation with refined Southern hospitality. Wrap-around porches, beautifully decorated rooms, seaside dining at The Pointe Restaurant, 24/7 room service and staff to exceed your expectations will all be a part of your stay at Elizabeth Pointe. Relax in a rocking chair with a glass of sweet tea and ocean views from the broad porch and you will see why this Inn received the 2017 Conde Nast Best Service Award and is featured as one of Southern Living Magazine's Great Inns of the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Pointe Hotel Fernandina Beach
Elizabeth Pointe Amelia Island
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing