We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Fave”
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Island Fave”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ciao was a definite favorite in Fernandina! It was by far the best dinner we'd had out of our 4 day 3 night stay on Amelia Island. Our visit to the Crab trap upon arriving was well below sub par and we'd determined to not return during our stay (despite the recommendations). We wish that Ciao had been our first choice and we also wish that we'd eaten there sooner. It was quite nice to have the owner greet you at the door upon arriving. The staff and waiters were superb and very helpful and accommodating. I also appreciate their menu choices of gluten free pasta! Wonderful eats and service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MycnTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    211
    104
    24
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food, felt like family”
Reviewed August 9, 2013


We had the special, which was seafood lasagna, it was delicious. We also had the margherita pizza, it had a paper thin crust, maybe a little to thin but it still was good. Went back a second time and I had the veal, it was huge, I could not finish it, it was very good. My wife had the zuppa di pesce, it was also delicious, the ingredients were all fresh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank electricfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Fernandina Beach”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great meal at Ciao. I had the special which was a seafood lasagna...delicious. We also had chicken parmesan, fettucine alfredo and pizza and all of us loved our dishes. Service was good and we enjoyed sitting on the patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten here a year ago at it's previous location and expectations were high. Unfortunately, Ciao feel a bit short. Service was not attentive even though they were not overly busy. Our water went unfilled the entire meal. Entrees were both good, but why do nice restaurants insist on keeping the tails on the shrimp? Good wine selection. Kids pizza was nicely done. On the whole, good food but Ciao had lost it's luster for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntioneJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice - no complaints”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a nice restaurant but nothing exceptional. Tables are close together and it is noisy. Service was a little spotty but not too bad. Wine selection was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simple-Thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing