We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but...”
Review of Ciao Bistro

Ciao Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Ciao Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten here a year ago at it's previous location and expectations were high. Unfortunately, Ciao feel a bit short. Service was not attentive even though they were not overly busy. Our water went unfilled the entire meal. Entrees were both good, but why do nice restaurants insist on keeping the tails on the shrimp? Good wine selection. Kids pizza was nicely done. On the whole, good food but Ciao had lost it's luster for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntioneJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    208
    104
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice - no complaints”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a nice restaurant but nothing exceptional. Tables are close together and it is noisy. Service was a little spotty but not too bad. Wine selection was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simple-Thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food on the Island”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent restaurant in the historic district. Ciao Bistro offers great service and wonderful food and wine. My husband and I both had the eggplant parmesan and it was amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Fernandina Beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JR_Jacq31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The most promising discovery at our first and last visit to Ciao was a wine selection from Paso Robles, CA. We found the food to be slightly less than average and the noise level was intolerable. Management should take note as to how many times a server MUST lean in to hear a customer's menu request.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraTony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved this authentic italian place. Food was excellent (try the thin pizza and the tirimisu!) The staff had a warm, family kind of feel and although it was very busy, we felt welcome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 406Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bistro also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Ciao Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing